We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day on the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kayak Connection

Kayak Connection
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day on the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great day cruising the Bay out of Santa Cruz Harbor. Knowledgeable & Friendly staff,
equipment in excellent condition made for a smooth glid out of the harbor and into the bay. I will definatly do this again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“handy rental”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We normally take our own kayaks to moss landing...this time we rented. they were good at setting us up with equipment and boats. there's a required safety video...so, give yourself time. they can be booked out on weekends...make reservations. they also teach skills and take groups out...I can't rate that part of the business. there is a parking fee for the lot...bring $1 bills and fill out the envelope. Lots of up close viewing of Sea otters, seals, birds, and fish if you go in the shallows. Check tide times...don't paddle againt the tide.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank yvonne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hang with the Otters and Sea Lions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I discovered this place while vacationing with my wife in early July while on the way to Carmel. Didn't have time to boat that day but was initially impressed with the setup and look of the place. Weeks later, while doing consultant work in the Central Valley, I decided to escape the 110 degree heat and drive 2 hours to Moss Landing and rent a Kayak.

These folks provide quality equipment rentals from the boats themselves, to jackets, wet suits, dry suits - whatever they feel is appropriate based on the conditions (but leaving the final decision to you). Great safety instruction for newbies (thorough but not tedious), including what to do and not do do with respect to wildlife.

The slough itself is gorgeous! Great 3 hours of boating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dolomite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kayaking in a ocean treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Kayaking here is a delight. The staff are helpful the boats are in good shape and the ocean life are plentiful. Eat at a variety of good places in Moss Landing after your paddle and you get a gorgeous date with the California coast. Try Phils for fantastic seafood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vschlafke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great guided kayak tour with Lisa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My son and I spent a wonderful Saturday afternoon on a guided kayak tour out of Moss Landing. It ended up just being the two of us with guide, Lisa. She fitted us with gear and we set off. We spotted so much marine life- seals, sea lions and sea otters galore. (finally learned to tell the difference between them all!) Lots of birds as well as a really cool HUGE starfish clinging to a pier. Lisa tailored the trip to our wishes (pace, destinations, duration) since it was just us, and she was very pleasant, knowledgeable and fun. We had not used sea kayaks before but it was easy to pick up and we felt safe and comfortable. I brought along my camera after discussing the chances of tipping (slim, really only if you intend to, it being a rather calm day, they explained) so I captured many great shots of the wild life. Cost was $55 each for 3 hour tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crthomson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Connection also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing