We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Cruises, an amazing experience on the Monterey Bay”
Review of Sanctuary Cruises

Sanctuary Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore Monterey Bay year-round with a marine biologist aboard Santuary, a beautiful boat that is only booked to 80% of her capacity for a more personalized passenger experience. We run longer trips with fewer passengers. We really care about the environment and run 100% local biodiesel. Knowledgeable, warm owner/operators engage and enchant. Responsible captains who don't crowd the animals but ease into the area, which often results in fantastic sightings. We have a great device for avoiding seasickness. Located in Moss Landing at the heart of the Monterey Bay & beginning of the submarine canyon for awesome sightings. We are the boat the locals prefer and the National Marine Sanctuary recommends.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sanctuary Cruises, an amazing experience on the Monterey Bay”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

From start to finish, this cruise and whale watching experience is remarkable. The welcoming staff educates and informs on the wonderful of the Monterey Bay and all its waters has to offer. The only bio fueled tour boat on the bay. Eco friendly at every turn, this experiences allows you to enjoy the experience completely knowing you are not harming the environment. I recommend this trip highly. If you are in Northern CA, don't miss the experience. Oh, and by the way, we must have see 30 different whales, and that doesn't include dolphins, sea lions and sea otters, so many, so beautiful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sageisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    44
    7
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Fabulous whale watching trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Sanctuary Cruises is the best! A smallish boat that can get right in the middle of things. We saw humpback whales feeding, tail-lobbing, and breaching. Risso's dolphins, including babies. Common murres, a fulmar, sooty shearwaters, and, in the harbor, elegant terns and sea otters. And they use bio-diesel, which is far less smelly and better for the environment. It was like a trip to another world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Whale Watching in Monterey Bay”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just returned from an amazing whale watching cruise! Capt. Corey piloted our 43 ft. boat into waters virtually teeming with humpback whales, Risso's dolphins, California sea lions (and a bonus Stellar sea lion), sea otters and many sp. of birds. Mate Scott provided in depth and scientifically accurate descriptions of the creatures we observed as well as insights into the history and ecology of these animals in Monterey Bay. We were 9 plus 2 crew members so no crowding or cattle boat feel! I would definitely choose Sanctuary Cruises for my next whale watching experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. We saw Humpback whales EVERY WHERE. We also saw Risso dolphins. Would recommend Sanctuary Cruises over going out of Monterey because they go out further and every time we out with Sanctuary weve never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank 5150cop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“slough tours are the best!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

the slough tours are the best thing to do to get up close and personal with the wildlife in the area. It is spectacular and you will see the most animals/birds if you take the first morning cruises.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Sanctuary Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing