We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very exciting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve

Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Monterey and Carmel Helicopter Tour from Watsonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wildlife reserve that offers visitors walking trails and kayak tours through salt marshes and tidal flats.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not very exciting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place was a smelly marsh without much scenery. We did not see any animals and overall were not impressed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelingteacher407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    36
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“This place is awesome! Sea Otters and Sea Lions Everywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We drove out from Highway 1 to the end of Jetty Road and saw maybe 30-40 sea otters hanging out near the beach. It was so cool. We stayed past sunset and it was magical! Across the slough on docks there were several hundred sea lions by the Sea Harvest restaurant.
This is a great area to hang out and watch the wildlife in its wild habitat - and not in an aquarium or animal park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“See lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Elkhorn Slough is a great place to see Monterey Bay marine mammals and water/shore birds up close and personal. You can walk the beach, kayak or take a small boat trip charter, wander along the harbor or lunch at water's edge. Our favorite trip is via Whisper Charters quiet electric boat tour (2 hours, $40 weekdays and $50 weekends). Any way you take in the Slough, you are sure to see otters, harbor seals, sea lions and a changing array of birds. Gentle whales and Orcas come in close to the Slough because the Monterey Submarine Canyon is just off shore. There is a small charge for the park and there are restrooms, but there are other places off Rt 1 you can park and not pay anything to just walk around. Moss Landing is nearby for meals. If you drive the road next to the power plant, you can get to the Elkhorn Slough Foundation property, where you can hike and see the Slough from land. Also very interesting. Don't be put off by the power plant next to the Slough. It does not detract from the amazing wildlife you are sure to see. Great place rain, shine or Monterey fog.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank wildlifetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easy Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

When the wind and clouds roll into the beaches we head for the Elkhorn Slough. First we go to Jetty Road and watch the pods of otters and birdlife then walk the beach to look at shells. Restrooms are in the parking lot. Then we go to Elkhorn Slough. The walk charge is $4 each. We have seen lots of different birds, wildflowers, baby sharks & jellyfish. We bring a sack lunch and sit on a bench to watch the wildlife show. Even though the paths are wide, check each other for ticks before getting back in your car.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I love to visit the slough whenever I am in the area. There are great views of wildlife even from the parking lot near moss landing harbor visitor dock. My favorite way to see sea lions, starfish, otters, jellyfish and more in a natural environment is by renting kayaks. Even beginners can handle the slough via kayak, but if it's your first time you may want to make sure wind and tides are favorable or you may have sore arms the next day. You do not need a guide and it's nearly impossible to get lost kayaking the slough!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlinashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing