We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dull but some nice stuff too.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve

Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Monterey and Carmel Helicopter Tour from Watsonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wildlife reserve that offers visitors walking trails and kayak tours through salt marshes and tidal flats.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A little dull but some nice stuff too.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

In general I found the marsh a little dull. Maybe I picked a bad day or just had bad luck, but it seemed there wasn't so much to see, and what there was to see, was pretty far away. We saw plenty of birds in the distance. Egrets, ducks, cormorants, sea gulls and plovers. We also saw a leopard shark which was pretty neat. On the downside we didn't see any mammals like otters or sea lions, which we were hoping for. The visitor center lends out nice binocculars (sp?) if you leave your driver's license as a deposit. They were quite handy. I think we will be back again to see if we have better luck (plus it is close to home).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    36
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderland of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place. Well worth the trip. A wonderland set close to industrial sites. You can walk over 6-7 miles of trails and all are a bit different.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank esccec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice flat hikes; easy to follow trails. Some trips you will see lots of birds and other times, not so much. Enjoy the quiet; never really busy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milocat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Kayaking with Sea Otters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

An excellent place to kayak. There is ample parking and a nice beach from which to launch. You start out in the small harbor and paddle out to the slough. We passed hundreds of seals sunning themselves on the docks, the shore banks or just floating on the waters surface. Once in the slough, we saw plenty of sea otters, some that were curious enough to swim up close to our kayaks. There are many species of birds to view and to watch their behavior.

The tides were with us both ways but we picked up a little wind that we had to paddle against coming back in. We were out for over 4 hours and had a very enjoyable row.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco bay area, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“wildlife....birds and seals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

a must do! Kayaker's heaven, bird watcher heaven and loads of info on a site tour. Pick a warm day or bundle up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank anniecat1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing