We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A natural wonder for all ages!”

Fitzgerald Marine Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore tidepools, hike along bluffs and relax at a beachside picnic spot.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A natural wonder for all ages!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Moss beach is a very special place to see marine life as it is in nature.

This is a family friendly place that will be sure to please the whole gang.

Parking is limited near the entrance but you can park on the street near the moss beach distillery and take a short walk through the woods; don't worry there is a trail.

Dogs are not allowed at all! Be wary, park police routinely tickets people who disobey.

Be sure to check the tide schedule as I have been disappointed many times to show up and have the tide pools completely submerged.

Bring good non slip shoes and your camera to take part in the wonder of Moss Beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enigmalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brought the students”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We are from Virginia and make a point to visit Pacifica every year in August. While here at a national journalism convention I thought this is the place to bring my 15 students so they can see unadorned nature, the seals and the beautiful coastline. It's certainly did not disappoint. I loved to sit up on the bench and see them cavort on the rocks looking at the seals looking at the sea urchins, taking it all in! Must see spot and free!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place to Clear Your Mind”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As the saying goes, "All I need is some time in a beautiful place to clear my mind." This is a place that fits the bill. The tide pools are especially interesting at low tide and the beach very accessible. The headlands above the beach have a lovely grove of cypress trees where you can take a leisurely walk on flat terrain, viewing the ocean as you go. A great place for photographers!

It is best to go during the week, mid to late afternoon (after school groups are finished viewing the tidepools). There is no fee for admission, and plenty of free parking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbtapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little beach, but the dead seal with its head chopped off kind of ruined it”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This little beach is great for exploring the tide pools at low tide and seeing seals. Unfortunately, the day we visited a dead had washed up and apparently the Academy of Sciences came out and took its head to test. This wouldn't have been so bad if they had moved the seal a bit away from the entrance. We traveled there with our 4 and 7 year old daughters that are still talking about it. I get that they want it to naturally move back into the food chain, but this beach is awfully small to just leave it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plumstitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience for All Ages”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've visited several times over 12 years or so. When our children were in high school and college, they agreed to be at the beach by 7:30 a.m., which was the best time for tide pooling. They loved it. Several years ago, we visited with our elderly aunt shortly before she died. She couldn't walk down to the beach, but she walked to the point and sat on the bench to take in the ocean. We just returned from another visit and saw the seal lions on the beach and walked in the Cypress groves. It was high tide, so no tide pooling, but our now young adult children still enjoyed themselves. A small parking lot, picnic area and washrom facilities are off the beach.

The website for the Friends of Fitzgerald Marine Reserve has a link to checking the times for low tides. According to the website, reservations are required for groups of more than 10 people.

Length of stay would depend on weather and time of year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzgerald Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Fitzgerald Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing