We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience all around”
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
240
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

The Inn offered a special introductory rate which expired the week b4 we could go. I called and asked if the rate could be extended to us and it was. The room was good sizes with a working fireplace and 2 DuraFlame logs. Afternoon tea and food, plus breakfast was plentiful and very good.

Our favorite part was the garden at the Inn and the surrounding walking paths in the area. We were only an hour away from home, but felt like we were a great distance away, given that we did not hear car traffic or loud noises. The garden was very tranquil and the room had a small patio with 2 chairs, as well as benches in the garden area.

We had two complaints, but nothing so great as to spoil our stay or keep us from returning: 1) The screen on the sliding patio door was greatly torn and allowed flying bugs into the room; and 2) I called the Inn before we drove there to ask if the room had a CD player. I was told that there was a DVD player in the room that would also play CDs. Therefore, we did not bring our CD player and we were very disappointed when we tried to play our relaxing, soft music CDs and found that their DVD player did not play CDs.

We will stay there again, especially when they offer their "2 nights for the price of one."

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

This was the most accomodating, helpful and friendly staff we have ever encountered in our many hotel stays. The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast was delicious. The views are gorgeous, even flawless. We will stay here whenever we are in this area, It was a perfect stay in every way.

  • Liked — Great staff and beautiful scenery and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — No internet and small TV
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyray916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at the Seal Cove Inn during September 2004 as part of a major west coast holiday travelling down the coast to La Jolla. We are British travellers and we were most disappointed with our time there. The Inn was tired and lacked that tender loving care all first class establishments enjoy.

We understand that the Inn has since been purchased by a larger hotel group, let's hope they will refurbish, and put in place a full time committed staff. The location is outstanding and could be a truly spectacular destination.
Improve and upgrade the rooms and bathrooms and provide a hearty breakfast with good ingredients. It beggered belief, that Seal Cove did not use top quality produce that could so easily have been sourced locally.

The place lacked a sense of purpose and sadly, seemed to have lost its way in offering a welcome retreat for the holiday maker, a particular concern as at the time, it was owned by the Karen Brown organisation, purveyors of opinions of other hotels and destinations worldwide...

It's academic now, but 'get your house in order' came to mind when we stayed there. We hope it improves with the new ownership.

Gillian W
London
England

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLondoner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

My family and I recently returned from a trip to California and a stay at the Seal Cove Inn. The Inn is charming, the rooms are spacious, the staff is helpful, and the seclusion of the area is all you could ask for. There are many good restaurants nearby as well as miles of beautiful coastline to enjoy and wander on.

My only problem with the advertising on this Inn was that it is billed by the Four Sisters Inn website as being nearer to the beach than it is. You can hear the surf from the hotel building, but you can't see it, and you certainly are not overlooking it.

You are near a marine preserve that is a fairly good walk away. Again, the Inn's website lists this as a short walk. The nearby access, which I would not call a short walk as my little son tired while walking it and had to be carried, has a poorly maintained errosion stair down to the beach. This stair is difficult while carrying a small child and would be impassible if you don't do stairs well. The other access to the marine refuge is quite far, and you'd be better off driving.

The tide pools themselves are facinating (and this is really not a comment on the inn, but useful for those staying there to know), but if seals are present (as they were when I was there) the refuge rangers will block off access to a good portion of the pools to protect the seals.

  • Liked — Very nice inn, secluded area
  • Disliked — not near to the beach like advertised
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sfens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

I absolutely enjoyed staying at the Seal Cove Inn. A girlfriend and I were so impressed with the rooms - the website doesn't do the rooms justice. i was nervous it would be a frilly bed and breakfast but it really was more of a quaint inn. the room we stayed in was a balcony room - it felt like it was recently remodeled. it felt very modern - it had a great fireplace, a refrigerator with a complimentary bottle of wine, and a tv. you can get a movie from the movie closet downstairs.

the afternoon appetizers were perfect as we got there around 5pm and were a little hungry. the person at the front desk was very helpful with dinner selection. and the best part is the cookie jar with the delicious chocolate chip cookies - perfect for late night munchies.

the breakfast was really good - a quiche thing, lots of baked goods, fresh orange juice and lots of fruit. it was perfect!

overall i really enjoyed staying here. i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFtraveler735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing