We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$275
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$264
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Hotels.com
$264
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Travelocity$264
Priceline$275
Trip.com$300
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
292
69
16
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
292
69
16
14
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 401 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016

The inn itself is gorgeous, our room was luxurious, and the breakfast was wonderful.
The staff is outstanding and is very attentive. Our room had patio access to the lovely gardens out back. Just steps from the Inn, a short easy walking trail leads to the beach where my wife and I explored the tide pools. We loved our stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Hello Jonathan C,
We’re positively delighted that you loved the elegant and serene atmosphere of our ocean-side paradise. We love being mere steps from Moss Beach, and we’re so glad you did, too! We devote ourselves to making sure each guest is well attended; we can’t wait to tell our staff that they took good care of you. Everything from our gardens and patios to our breakfasts are designed with our guests’ pleasure in mind! We’re so glad you enjoyed it all. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Seal Cove Inn was the perfect stay to celebrate our 15th Anniversary! Every detail was perfect! They even packed us a breakfast to go since we had to leave early in the morning. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful! It was quiet and peaceful. Beautiful beach walks and places to watch the sea lions. We enjoyed waking all around the property and exploring Princeton and Moss Beach. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JMCET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hello JMCET,
We love this opportunity to once again wish you a happy anniversary! It was our pleasure to see you off with a packed breakfast and a thank you for your visit. Thank you for appreciating our fantastic team and serene location. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed some of the stunning gems surrounding us: strolls along the beach, the local marine life, area walking trails and the delicious cuisine available. We’re already looking forward to welcoming you again in the future for another relaxing getaway to our slice of coastal paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Coming from the Eastern time zone, we got up our first morning quite early (and hungry). After getting complimentary coffee and before taking a walk at 7am, my husband asked if we could have our breakfast (yogurt and pastries) at 8 instead of 8:30. The kitchen associate said that we could. We were not served until almost 8:30 after my husband had to ask again (and the manager and kitchen associate were loudly chatting about extraneous activities and the manager was eating his own breakfast), but the issue that was most disappointing was the focus from the manager that we were not following their "policies" that breakfast is not served until 8:30am. I asked about the sign in the room that states that if we have a request, please ask. We did ask, and when the manager did not follow through, he told us that serving anything before 8:30am was not their policy. We asked why the kitchen associate stated that she would make the exception then? A Relaxing atmosphere and customer service oriented was not the feeling I received and we went on our way, finding a different, lovely inn by the sea that was very generous with the afternoon wine, the hot breakfast, and accommodating any small, simple request. We still had to pay the full 3 night rate as well, so, be very aware of the fine print that if you are not satisfied with the service, and leave early, you must still pay the full amount. We wanted to pay for the night we stayed of course, but as they were not fully booked, hoped that they would not charge us when we were not there due to our opinion of poor service. This is the first time in 30 years that we have every left an inn early due to poor service. There are many other great places in the area with ocean views (this Inn does not have an ocean view).

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Hello Tammy043,

Thank you for your feedback. I believe it would help to clarify - it is not a policy, our dining room does not actually open until 8:30 AM as we explain at each check in and in all four pre-stay communications we send. We happily asked the kitchen staff to accommodate as early a breakfast as possible when your husband stopped by the kitchen as the staff was attending to their morning duties. We served you at 8:19, 11 minutes early. Still, we understand that it was not what you wanted and we try to please all our guests, so we were also happy to extend to you a credit for a future stay among other concessions. We're sorry the time our dining room opens didn't suit your needs, but feel we did an excellent job of mitigating that inconvenience. We were very pleased to hear from you and your husband while you were here that you had a lovely time exploring our area, going for bike ride, trying a local microbrewery that we told you about and taking advantage of our dining package. We wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay. We were looking for a place to stay that was just south of San Francisco where we ate dinner. The drive was 30 minutes from town and the staff made arrangements that allowed us to enter after hours. The Inn has 10 rooms which are spacious and well decorated with doors that led out to walkway around the property. All in all, this Inn was a good choice.

Room tip: It was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. We wanted to enjoy the fireplace but it warmed the room and the air conditioner could not be turned up higher.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerQ6142GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Hi TravelerQ6142GP,

We're so glad you liked the inn. It's a beautiful drive, isn't it? Thank you for your comments about our decor, size of suites and property. Please come visit us again when your travelers bring you to the area. We'd love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed this place. It is cozy and the staff has lots of details with you. It is the best included breakfast I have had in two months traveling in the US. The hotel is just minutes away from the beach but you can't see the beach due to the trees. There is fresh and free coffee at all time as well as sodas and bottled water. I like! Top for romantic escapes!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank MoticaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Hello MoticaP,
Thank you for appreciating our team’s knowledge of the area; we always enjoy sharing our love of Half Moon Bay with guests! It’s wonderful to hear that our coastal location, cozy inn, and our all day coffee and beverages helped ensure your stay with us was memorable in all the best ways. Your compliment for our delicious and healthy breakfast has made our day, thank you. We hope your travels bring you to our serene coastal home again; we love welcoming familiar faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews