We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$264
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$264
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/23
Hotels.com$264
eDreams
Priceline$275
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
292
69
16
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
292
69
16
14
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 401 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2016

The first night we had a wonderful conversation with the two women employees while we were checking in and getting settled. She offered us a glass of wine and some snacks, showed us the self-serve espresso machine, the drink fridge, the gardens, our gorgeous top floor room. Breakfast each morning was incredibly delicious, although the second morning, the man who brought up the tray hadn't brought silverware with him and it was about a half hour late -- they were very full that night (It was Valentine's weekend).

The garden is beautiful and we spent a lot of time at the Inn with the windows open in our beautiful, though strangely laid-out room. Unless the sun was out, the room was very dark even with the lights on. The whirlpool tub was comfortable, although bits of lavender kept coming loose from the jets (which, in water, look like tiny dark bits of something you wouldn't want to share water with) so I think the herb-filled soap is probably a bad choice for these tubs. The shower didn't have a door, which meant it was actually very cold and splashed water all over the floor.

The second afternoon, my husband and I came in from exploring HMB to find a new woman at the desk -- I didn't catch her name but she was somewhat older and heavyset. She didn't great us at all, but asked, in a very condescending tone, "Can I help you?" as though we had wandered in from the street and didn't belong. I told her what room we were in and she didn't seem apologetic about her tone at all. I got the sense she didn't want to be bothered, but I was disappointed, I had been looking forward to the complimentary glass of wine at ~5pm each day but quite oppositely from the women of the previous night, she didn't offer. I felt far less comfortable enjoying the grounds that second night.

We ended up bringing our own wine (and some cheese and deli meats) to enjoy in our room for one of the afternoons -- we put this in the minifridge the night before, but the next day, the cheese and meat were warm, and inedible. The fridge was plugged in, but wasn't keeping anything cool. We were disappointed about losing our dinner that night (reservations were hard to find in HMB on valentines) and the staff member we told about it just said they'd swap it out after we left, and offered no apology.

One of the nights, another couple had some sort of fight around... 10? 11pm? and there was some yelling and door slamming. At this inn, there is no overnight staff, so I was worried about what might happen if their domestic disagreement continued or if any other patrons got caught in the fray.

There is a gorgeous walk through the cypress trees and out to the beach just steps from the Inn. We walked it twice and loved every step. We didn't ride the bikes but I wish we had -- they looked like a lot of fun.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sknep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Hello Sknep,
Hearing that you felt truly welcomed from the moment you arrived is what we love to hear! We’re also delighted that our wine reception, espresso machine, garden, available drinks and our healthy Be Replenished breakfast won you over. We’d like to again apologize that your breakfast was late in coming on one day of your stay and that utensils were not provided from the beginning. Thank you for your feedback regarding our bathroom and room layout, and lavender soap. Please accept our sincere apology that you didn’t feel as welcomed on your second night. We will be sure to look into the incident right away. The safety of our guests is one of our highest priorities. A member of our team is always onsite or next door and available to our guests in the event of an emergency or other unforeseen circumstances. Contact numbers are posted in every guest room and throughout our inn. Additionally, our inn is equipped with a 24-hour security monitoring system ensuring that proper notification is sent if an emergency occurs. Hearing that our guests have fallen in love with the local beauty as strongly as we have is always guaranteed to make us smile, thank you. We hope to welcome you again in the future; our bikes will be waiting to help you discover another stunning perspective of our coastal home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

A very well appointed Inn which stands in attractive grounds and allows easy access to the beach.

Our room was of an extremely high standard both in it's décor and amenities.

We particularly liked the fact that we could choose to have breakfast in our room and also that there were both hot and cold beverages available at all times.

This, together with attentive staff made for an extremely pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingBirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Hello Traveling Birders,
Hearing that your stay with us so fully impressed you has made our day, thank you! We take great pride in providing luxury rooms and amenities complemented with our high standard of service, and your appreciation is the greatest reward we could ask for. We echo your thoughts exactly; enjoying the stunning coastal bluffs and beaches in our backyard never fails to make us smile. We believe every memorable day deserves a memorable breakfast; we’re delighted you loved our Be Replenished Breakfast and the in-room convenience you selected. We’ll be sure to pass your praise along to our team; your comments are sure to generate many big smiles. We hope to welcome your again when you next crave a tranquil visit to the ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Stayed here on our way down to Carmel. Very quaint. Staff was so attentive. Gardens are beautiful. Very quiet and romantic. Didn't even know there were other guests here until we were checking out. We had a balcony, fireplace room overlooking the garden with a peep of the ocean.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Hello Jill H,
We’re delighted that your travels brought you to our door; thank you for allowing us the opportunity to impress you. It’s fabulous to know that our serene garden, romantic ambiance, peaceful inn and room amenities all ensured your stay with us was ideal. Thank you for appreciating our staffs’ dedication. We hope to welcome you again in the future; another relaxing getaway will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Inn for a week. The room was beautiful and overlooked a gorgeous flowered courtyard. The breakfasts were delicious and charmingly served, fresh cookies daily and the latte machine were big pluses. The grounds are gorgeous and the nearby beach and wildlife were fabulous. The Inn people were friendly and very helpful with all of our questions! We would definitely go back!

Room tip: We loved our first floor room overlooking the flowered courtyard and just a few steps from the cookies and latte machine!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Hello Lynn H,
We greatly enjoyed welcoming you and your husband, and we’re delighted to hear you loved your time with us. Providing our guests with a beautiful and luxurious setting to nourish the soul is our specialty; thank you for appreciating our dedication. We’re happy our Be Replenished breakfasts, cookies (who doesn’t love a freshly baked cookie!) garden, location and lattes all enhanced your getaway. We’ll love sharing your praise for our service with our team; many smiles are sure to grow! We’re looking forward to welcoming you again for another picture-perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

What a stunning hotel . . . . . when we eventually found it.

Arriving to Moss Beach (after an 11 hour flight) in the dark whilst driving an unfamiliar hire car on the wrong side of the road (for us!) isn't the easiest way to find this lovely bijou hotel. But once there . . . wow !!!

Fantastically appointed room, perfect decor, lovely surrounding grounds leading out to Seal Cove where we saw . . . . seals !!!

Add to that the great communications before, during and after our stay . . . what's not to love !!!

My only minute criticism would be for the hotel sign to be better illuminated at night - but that's it - everything else, 5 star.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BobSki-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Seal Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Hello BobSki-UK,
We’re blushing after reading your fabulous review & loving it! Most importantly, we’re happy you found your way to us safely after such long travels. Hearing your enthusiasm for our décor, spacious rooms and beautiful location has us walking with an extra bounce to our steps. You’ve discovered one of the many reasons we love our home, the seals! We love that they captured your heart as they have ours. Thank you for appreciating our open communication; we strive to provide unparalleled service through every part of your trip. Thank you for your feedback regarding our signage; we’ll take your suggestion into thoughtful consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews