We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Half Moon Bay Area”
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having visited many areas of CA, we had not been to the Moss Beach/Half Moon Bay area. Not many ways to get there, and if you pick the wrong weekend, it can be a slow trip. Hwy 92 from 280 is a nice drive, unless it is a sunny weekend, as everyone seems to want to go to HMB.

Seal Cove Inn is a lovely property... What we were told it was designed as an Inn, by an owner who traveled a lot and experienced inns. It showed in the spacious rooms, wide hallways and staircases. The building seems French in character and has lovely grounds. It's location is great, as it is not near the fog horn in HMB. You can hear it when in the Seal Cove Inn parking lot, but not in the rooms. If you stay in HMB you are subjected to the fog horn, even at expensive hotels in HMB.

Unlike many inns, the SCI parking lot is large.

I highly recommend this Inn, as the service is great, the rooms are spacious, and the location is serene. It is a short walk to the ocean and some tidepools.

Some things to consider. It is just north of the HMB airport. When the airport is active, it can be a bit noisy. We heard many aircraft take off within a few minutes, and SCI is right in the take off pattern. That was on the weekend, and we didn't hear much during the week.

Second is the heating system. It can be noisy. We meet another couple that changed rooms as the noise was disturbing their sleep. We turned the system way down and it was ok, but we still had some noise during the night.

Highly recommend you stay on the 2nd floor. It is much quieter, and some rooms have a balcony. The fireplaces in rooms are wood burning. The Inn provided a "bundle" of ECOwood, which burns well, but lacks the snap, crackle and pop of real wood...and little smell of wood. SCI provides a complimentary bottle of wine in the minifridge.

SCI location is great. It's easy to get to harborside HMB using side roads (Airport Road) or HWY 1. You can walk to Moss Beach Distillery (o.4 miles). MBD is a VG restaurant on the ocean.

SCI has breakfast every morning, it is meat free, and the artichoke strata is outrageously good. In the afternoon they have a "tea", typically a tea cake, some cheese and assorted items. In the afternoon they have fresh cookies at the front desk.

Overall. the location, accommodations, service are terrific. The food is VG, though I wish there was more variety (e.g. bacon/ham, peanut butter) Not everyone likes oatmeal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 353 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Seal Cove Inn is a fabulous place for a couples retreat. The rooms are comfortable and private. They have a fireplace and a great little bag that you can burn. They make for a wonderfully romantic atmosphere, but the fire does not last all night which is nice. The fire burns for about 2 hours.
The food is excellent, but it be warned it is all vegetarian.
The grounds are beautiful; and it is a short walk to seal cove where you often see sea lions basking in the sun. There is also a great avenue of redwoods right on the coast line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful location. The inn looks like it could be in the south of France. The gardens just outside our door were beautiful. We were warmly greeted by the staff. We took several walks to the beach nearby as well as on the coastal trail which goes from Half Moon Bay to Princeton. We enjoyed the opportunity to meet other people both at breakfast and during the evening nibblies. The chairs in front of the fireplace in our room were a great place to unwind in the evening after going to one of the restaurants in the area. We loved the fact that the inn was so close to San Francisco when it was time to head home. We would certainly recommend staying here. We hope it doesn't change under the new ownership.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer6469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The setting of this inn is quaint. And the accomodations are adequate. But the carpets are dingy and stained through out the Inn. We stayed in Room 1 and there was lightbulb out over the fireplace and one of the lamps on the nightstands didn't have a knob to turn it on. The room was very drafty. Requested an extra wood package on our last night and it was never delivered. (Upon complaint our bill was adjusted to compensate that.) On our trip to CA we stayed at another Four Sisters Inn and the Seal Cove Inn was substandard to it but more expensive. I will say that if you get the pleasure of having Ray greet you upon arrival you will not be disappointed. Ray provided a fantastic welcome and was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessT137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a wonderful place. Although it's just off the highway at Moss Beach it's nestled amongst the trees in it's own world, the only sound was that of the surf from the beach at the end of the road. Our room was large with a couple of comfortable chairs in front of a fireplace (complete with wood to burn). There were patio doors out to a huge garden where we saw quail and rabbits about. We had a fridge in the room that had a bottle of complementary wine for us.
There was a spacious lounge where nibbles were served in the evenings and a lovely dining room where breakfast was served, both areas allowing guests to get to know each other in comfortable surroundings.
A couple of minutes walk from the Inn brings you to the beach, and we wandered the cliff top path watching the Seals in the water and on the beach below.
From the folders of menus available at the Reception, we chose a local restaurant and when returning from our meal, lit our fire and sat unwinding, and eventually went to bed with the firelight flickering. Heaven.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If your going to be staying in the Half Moon Bay area this is the place. The staff was great and the Inn was outstanding.

Had a great time, met some interesting people and just had a great relaxing time.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are great, even the one closest to lobby was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOBfromAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the last place we stayed at while we were in California and it was wonderful! Love the private road that goes back to the Inn and we were pleasantly greeted when we arrived at the front desk and when we walked into our room, we immediately saw the beautiful garden out our patio doors! We were also pleasantly surprised to see a complimentary bottle of wine in the mini fridge in our room and logs in the fireplace for us to use! We took advantage of the trail that led to the secluded beach which wasn't too far from the Inn! Really neat to explore the tide pool there! We also liked how the Moss Beach Distillary restaurant was right down the street! The breakfast at the Inn was good and overall we loved it! We will be back! :) P.S. One suggestion would be to add a hot tub in the backyard :)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jeepgirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
943 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range: $356 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing