We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gardens and Great Walking Trails to the Ocean Cliff”
Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Seal Cove Inn is one of the 4 Sister's Inns. We have stayed in 5 and they all have a different feel and surroundings. This inn is a lovely French country design with gardens you can meander through or sit on provided Adirondack type chairs and watch for the little bunnies and quail that come wandering out from under the bushes in search of seed that the owners provide. The rooms are nice, well appointed, each with French doors that open out to a private balcony or patio area. It's very quiet and peaceful. A burlap bag of wood chips are provided each day for burning in the real fireplace. Upon arriving one of the staff will present you with a bottle of wine and give you a quick little tour of your room. Be sure and inquire about operating the tub/shower as it took us some time to figure out how to get water to the shower nozzle. The beds are comfortable and the pillows were better than most pillows that are provided at B&Bs. They offer hors d'oeuvres at 5 PM along with a nice hot breakfast with many delicious fresh fruits, breads and cereals at 8:30 every morning. The staff is friendly but unless you engage them in conversation, they go about their daily work and keep to themselves. They are there for you if you need them and will offer suggestions for eating and taking walks along the many trails just outside the front door to the inn. Be sure and take the walk along the trail that leads to the split-rail fence. Take this walk for approximately half a mile and you will find an area where you can look over the cliff, about 200 feet straight down, and see all the elephant seals basking in the sun. Be sure and take your camera. We found the restaurants right on the beach very expensive and crowded. The 3 most popular ones are The Miramar, the Moss Beach Distillery and Sam's Chowder House. If it's the weekend, be prepared to wait and then be prepared to pay a lot. On the recommendation of one of the inns staff people, we went into Half Moon Bay and there's a restaurant on Main Street called, It's Italian. It was wonderful with great service and ambiance and the food was exceptionally good.
I would recommend Seal Cove Inn to anyone that enjoys gardens, relaxation and a great experience. The only negative I could find was the inn really needs to wash their windows as both inside and out needed attention.

Room Tip: If you stay in a main floor room you might hear the people above you, especially if they have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

My mom, sister, and I celebrated a birthday here 6/29-6/30. Wow, we were incredibly impressed! When we arrived the gal checking us in was so helpful and friendly. As soon as we had settled in our room, the evening appetizers were being served...delicious! Then we flipped through the restaurant binder and found a place for dinner. When we returned, our beds were turned down, with chocolate on our pillows, wine chilling, and wood ready to burn in the fireplace. Everything was so wonderful. The next morning we awoke to bunnies and quail outside our slider in the garden. I would go back in a heartbeat! The only thing I can think of that could be different is that they don't serve breakfast, which was scrumptious, until 8:30 am and we are early risers. Other than that, it was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor for views and easy access to the garden paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KniteRiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A beautiful, comfortable inn close to San Francisco. The charming town of Half Moon Bay is nearby with good restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, staff were very courteous and helpful and the rooms (this was our second visit) are all well appointed. The gardens are a joy and the abundant wildlife delightful.

Room Tip: Room 1 opens onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A very quaint B&B just a little north of Half Moon Bay. Walking distance to ocean and beach. Beautiful garden, excellent breakfast, home made cookies in the afternoon, and wood burning fireplace. What a lovely place. Would go back again anytime. Staff exceptional friendly

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband, two dogs and I recently stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was MARVELOUS!! Stunning location, outstanding service, and the food is to die for! Upon arrival we were greeted by a gal at the front desk named Dana. She was very delightful and took excellent care of us. Our room was spacious, clean and very romantic. The fireplace in the room made it very cozy and our dogs enjoyed the doggie bed they provided. Ray the chef prepared a delicious breakfast spread with the freshest produce in town. Complimentary fresh chocolate chip cookies and the beach being just 20 yards away is an added bonus! We're already planning a second trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in room 9 a balcony king. Room was very nice. Lots of windows and vaulted ceiling. It also had a view of the garden, which was quite pretty with birds and bunnies. Lots of windows throughout the inn and going up the staircase gives it an open and airy feeling. It is very secluded so really quiet. There is a path that leads from the inn to a trail that hugs the coast line. The views are spectacular. They also served a very good breakfast with warm food (quiche), not just breads and fruit. Within walking distance is the Moss Beach Distillary. Great place for food or just to have a drink at the bar. The bar has lots of windows so you still have a view. There is also outside seating around a fire pit (but too cold for me). I would definately recommend this Inn. Oh and if you are a golfer, head down to Half Moon Bay Golf Links (see photo).

Room Tip: The upstairs balcony rooms are very nice. More privacy than the downstairs, worth the little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This lovely B&B is a surprise to find just south of San Francisco. The grounds are lovely. You are close to trails and a walk on the beach. Breakfast is nice, as well as, the fireplace in the room. The rooms are a bit tired and need a refresh. They did not put out the afternoon snacks or cookies while we were there. They seemed a bit overwhelmed. All in all, still a nice place for a get away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
589 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
3.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range: $356 - $1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing