We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B just south of San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B just south of San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This lovely B&B is a surprise to find just south of San Francisco. The grounds are lovely. You are close to trails and a walk on the beach. Breakfast is nice, as well as, the fireplace in the room. The rooms are a bit tired and need a refresh. They did not put out the afternoon snacks or cookies while we were there. They seemed a bit overwhelmed. All in all, still a nice place for a get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
235
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is possibly my favorite inn of all time. It exceeded all my expectations in: location - quiet street 30 minutes from SFO, steps away from beautiful cypress trails and the marine reserve, comfort - delicious breakfasts (artichoke quiche), homemade cookies, quietest room ever even though the inn was nearly full, bed and pillows wonderful, service - Krista and Ray were attentive and friendly. We plan on returning as soon as possible! Don't miss the elephant seals at Ano Nuevo and hiking at Pescadero and Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Upper level balcony rooms let you hear and glimpse the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very lovely stay in a French style B&B. Well kept rooms with real fireplace & friendly common areas. Late afternoon snacks & tea or wine available. Also warm breakfast in a nice room with a view to the gardens. Place is located adjacent to an eco-friendly reserve with beach & tide pools. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We knew this inn when it was previously owned by a gracious innkeeper. Our return here Dec. 2011 was a bitter disappointment. All the beautiful decor gone, everything strictly Comfort Inn style, the lovely garden quietly dying from lack of care. No one met us when we arrived, and our key was in an envelope taped to the front door. Granted it was after 8 PM,for we had travelled from the east coast, but there was not so much as bottled water in the room we had, a dreary one, at that. The staff was pleasant enough, but it is the owners who are at fault. I will avoid the Three Sisters Inns like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank neveragainnotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

It's unbelievable this B&B is so close to San Francisco. The drive into downtown was just a half an hour. The property and surrounding town is so peaceful and a wonderful place to unwind. There are walking paths that lead to a couple of different beaches. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away and the tidal pools are phenomenal. Just check at the front for the low tide times and set your alarm clock. Wear shoes with good traction and take your camera.
I stayed in a second floor room with high ceilings that had a balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. A complimentary bag of kindling for the fireplace was provided each evening. The king bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room was extremely clean. The breakfast was delicious and prepared on site. It's a little pricey, but for a special occasion or if you can catch a mid-week deal this place is well worth the experience. This is an excellent place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in a ground floor garden room in early November. The queen bed was moderately firm and very comfortable. It seemed to us to be a wider than average queen, almost like a small king. The garden includes an interesting collection of plants, birds, and rabbits and is fun to watch, particularly when all the wildlife is out feeding. Our hosts were friendly and most accommodating. The breakfast selection changed daily and included a baked egg fritata one day and poached eggs the next as well as a selection of cereals, yogurt, breads, bagels and more. The town of Half Moon Bay about 7 miles away has some interesting bookstores and other shops. The nearby Distillery restaurant and bar is a very friendly joint at happy hour, reminiscent of East Enders. We definitely plan to return to Seal Cove Inn and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look inviting. The ground floor rooms are quite similar. The central furnace adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paramount81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A beautiful drive up the coast. I have stayed at the other B &B run by the Four Sister's Inn at Pacific Grove. Always friendly and accommodating. Special attention to detail. I love the fact that they leave you a teddy bear on the bed with your names on them. I usually end up buying them and taking it home for a souvenir. We stayed a few years back for our anniversary and we had a nice card on the bed wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The food was great for breakfast and the wine and cheese and cookies so yummy. Love the homemade food and the whole feel of being at home or in grandma's house with a twist. They made reservations for us at the local restaurant for the best clam chowder! We stayed downstairs in a corner unit which was nice and quiet. There is a great little patio leading to a manicured backyard or forest. Lots of hiking or running. Great weather too. We stayed in February which wasn't too cold or too hot.
We are looking to stay again with the Fours sister's soon.
Thank you Four Sister's

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing