We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Seal Cove Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seal Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seal Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Moss Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved the Seal Cove Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

We went to the inn to get away from it all. We had a wonderful time. The inn was romantic with its Tuscan facade to its gorgeous gardens filled with birds and late blooming plants. The staff did everything possible to accommodate us (including breakfast in bed). We've been there before this trip and will definitely go back again. Within a few block walk is a trail overlooking Half Moon Bay with a view of the seals playing on the beach.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RVTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    60
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
235
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago-land , IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

My husband and I are great fans of Four Sisters Inns, and decided to try yet another property. It was as wonderful as all the others we have enjoyed. Plus, the "staff" was wonderful - very friendly and engaging. The couple managing the property made wonderful suggestions regarding meals and sights to see. Dana was more than generous with her time in terms of allowing us to see other available rooms (for future visits) and taking our picture in different settings around the property. I'm totally committed to the concept of the Four Sisters type of property - having breakfast down the hall is a wonderful (and efficient) treat. The Seal Cove Inn setting is quite lovely - the gardens are beautiful, and our room seemed very private. Both my husband and I would welcome a return visit.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Shar0nS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

We have stayed at the Seal Cove Inn for some 20 years. It is our favorite mini vacation spot. It is located less than a five minute walk from the ocean and beaches, where wildlife is abundant. There are many excellent restaurants within a five to 15 minute drive. The Four Sisters Inns recently (two years) purchased the Inn and have begun a total remodeling project. Dana Kelley, the new manager, is the ultimate hostess and takes care of all your requirements. We have stayed at some of the top Inns and the Seal Cove ranks right up there with the best.

Bob & Debbie B.
San Ramon, CA

  • Liked — Location and Hospitality
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

We had a quick getaway to the Seal Cove Inn and were looking for a nice place to stay close to the Bay Area, on the coast, comfortable, and affordable. We hit a home run on all counts here, with the room plushly comfortable, the inn beautiful, the staff wonderful and the food great and plentiful. We strolled out the door and five minutes later we were on the beach at the Fitzgerald Marine reserve, and were the only humans on the long beach (we shared it with two large pods of very amusing seals). We booked through the Four Sister's website and found a great deal for the night we wanted. All this, and only 50 minutes from home in the East Bay! We hope to come back soon.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

We had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Seal Cove Inn! We drove down Highway 1 from Marin County to Moss Beach--beautiful drive which set the tone for our weekend. Upon arrival, the afternoon innkeeper gave us a tour of the inn and accompanied us to our room, which looked out at a grove of cypress trees and the Pacific Ocean. Just below our second story patio was a pretty garden. The room itself was lovely, with high ceilings, a comfy bed, and a romantic fireplace. The inn is a short drive to Half Moon Bay, which has a main street filled with little shops and restaurants. We spent the afternoon there, then headed back for afternoon treats at the inn in their sitting room. Breakfast was delicious, served in their dining room (or optionally in your guest room). We took a morning hike to the beach, saw many seals swimming in the water. It was very peaceful and beautiful. We hope to return to the inn and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pachicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento Foothills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

This was a wonderful, peaceful place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and happy anniversary balloons. The setting is wonderful with the forest next door. There are plenty of walking trails through the woods and down to the beach directly from your room. The room was very comfortable and clean. The only thing I would change is the pedastal sink in the bathroom. It's hard to have much room to place curling irons. We will definately return to this place!

  • Liked — The quiet location.
  • Disliked — The small bathrooms.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

Very nice property- we were pleasantly surprised. Inn is set off the street with a nice long driveway and on a large property with a big garden-- that much space is not typical in this area of Moss Beach. Good cookies on check-in, nice staff but not TOO nice as in nosy/chatty/weird. Rooms look *exactly* like the picture on the website. Tasteful, comfortable, not frilly. Bathroom is ordinary but clean w/ very nice thick towels & robes. Evening appetizers were great-- nice cheeses, complimentary bottle of wine, a good warm artichoke dip. Good breakfast- french toast, granola, oatmeal, fruit, muffins... Nice walks right next to the property to lovely tidal pools. Only thing-- bring an eyemask if you want to sleep in because there aren't heavy duty shades on the bedroom windows! Its gets bright very early.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Cove Inn

Property: Seal Cove Inn
Address: 221 Cypress Avenue, Moss Beach, CA 94038
Location: United States > California > Moss Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seal Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 23 miles south of San Francisco, Seal Cove Inn is an exclusive ten-room Half Moon Bay hotel, set apart by its recently completed renovation, dedication to luxurious details, As You Wish concierge services and peaceful, private surroundings. Cypress trees form a graceful arch over the pathway leading from the hotel down to Seal Cove Beach and the breathtaking Fitzgerald Marine Reserve. The inn is ideal for a romantic getaway or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seal Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seal Cove Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Moss Beach
Seal Cove Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing