We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dockside 3”

Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. George
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dockside 3”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tognazzini's has three restaurants. We haven't done the sit-down versions because we love the casual atmosphere of third. It is a patio directly on the bay with live music, cold beer, tasty fish & chips, and the best view of Morro Rock. Sea lions frolic in the water right below. To me, this is Morro Bay. Love it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lstolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    199
    60
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No atmosphere, no flavor, huge portions of bland food.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Uh, mediocre at best. The atmosphere and decor cruddy, 2 oz. glasses of mediocre wine, $25 entre's utterly flavorless. Worst meal ever in 20 years of coming to morro bay...never again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Met our Expectations!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently bought a home in MB and have been trying various restaurants. Several of our new neighbors recommended this place as where the "locals" go for casual seafood and we are glad they did. This is not quite fine dining but is a step above casual dining. The BB-Q Oysters were outstanding, I had the halibut fish & chips which were the best fish & chips I have had in MB, My wife had the regular fish & a coleslaw instead of the fries which was very good she rated the fish as excellent, the second best she has had in town. Our waitress, Dianne is the best waitress we have experienced in MB she totally enhanced our experience. I now agree with our neighbors this is a great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Heavenly chowder and fish!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped here for a quick bite before starting our week's stay in Morro Bay. Just looking for a first day cup of chowder and maybe some fish & chips. WOW!! The fish melted in your mouth and the chowder was packed with clams. The service was excellent and friendly. We will definitely come back this week for a larger meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FOGGY NIGHTTIME...NO VIEW...SKIP THIS PLACE.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I rarely write a review on a place I'm not crazy about...but this was disappointing on SO MANY levels.
I couldn't catch a sunset at The Galley, so I made a res for the next night & set out to try somewhere else. By the time i set out It was maybe 7:30, fogged in, and past sunset on a Tuesday (lots of places in these little seaside communities are only open Wed-Sun), the parking lot was packed, the place was full so here is where I lit. When I came in, the host was chatting it up with what may have been an employee who was there to eat with a companion:. OK..he thought I was with them or whatever...no problem. I was seated quickly after that. Everything looked good on paper and might have been delicious...what I selected wasn't. The "fresh" salmon did not taste like fresh & was too well done, covered in way too much sauce. The plate was drowning in sauce. I ordered a bottle of a champagne-style wine. My waitress opened the bottle, poured me a glass & left the bottle on the table...no chiller, no ice bucket...ON THE TABLE...guess what it got grossly warm. Last faux pas....asked to take remainder of meal home, she packaged it up and included NO SAUCE, with dry fish
Doubtful I will be returning. For less cost there are other places to get truly good fresh tasting fish and worth the cost. Places worth returning to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ijustknow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing