We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

ate at the self service dockside and sat out by the bay. the oysters and grilled fish were excellent and very fresh. i would recommend coming down to this part of the bay over eating in "town" where we had some very average deep fried frozen fish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    207
    61
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must Stop while in Morro Bay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Dockside outdoor patio area & fish market is a must-visit stop in Morro Bay. The seafood is fresh, cooked perfectly and best of all is the atmosphere on the patio. It is the most relaxing outdoor eatery we have experienced in a long time. Dog friendly and a stay-as-long-as you want attitude is so inviting. They even provide live music on most days we've stop by. The fried calamari and huge BBQ oysters are the BEST!! and all for a reasonable price. Thank you Dockside for a great experience for my husband's first day or retirement!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Food does not get any better! Tho' it is pricey, it is worth every penny! Waiters are efficient, atmosphere is cozy and relaxed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank A s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

For our last night in Morro Bay, we wanted seafood, and chose Tognazzini's, based on reviews we read here on TripAdvisor.

When we walked in, we were greeted immediately by the manager. The place was busy for a foggy Monday night, but we were seated immediately.

Water, bread, and a relish tray were brought to our table within minutes. My boyfriend opted for the Sunset Shrimp and Scallops (Sautéed with tomatoes, black olives, wine,garlic, lemon juice, & feta cheese). He said it was very rich -- lots of butter -- but delicious.

I really wanted the Dungeness Crab Melt, and even though it was technically only available at lunch, our server (who was just terrific) asked the chef if he could make an exception, and he did! Ohhhhh, it was great: huge pieces of crab, just a touch of mayo, and grilled perfectly on sourdough bread. Heaven!

For dessert (which we really didn't need, but hey, it was the last night of vacation), we shared a Linn's olallieberry cobbler with ice cream. Perfect.

The interior of the restaurant is simple -- older -- but I really liked the feel of it. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HendixMom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

They have the biggest deep fried oysters we have ever had and very good if you like them!! We ate there 3 nights out of our 5 and staff were warm and very friendly! Nice view over looking the bay and Morro Rock. Good food!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing