We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and service”

Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Server brought bread and a tray of pickles and peppers - much appreciated as it was late and we were hungry. Ordered two seafood platters and it was suggested we share one as they were large. Very good advice. One platter with delicious clam chowder to start was more than ample. Food was well cooked and presented. A great assortment of sea food!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    199
    60
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dockside too”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

actually went to dockside too. Could have stayed all day. A local hang out where you felt like one of the locals. Oysters were amazing! HUGE pacific... loved the BBQ and raw. The musician entertaining the crowd was great. Not great wines to choose from, but beer was great. a must!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 93108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where we take out "Out of Towners" for the best fresh fish”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The owners are true fishermen and they also know how to cook and serve fresh fish. Their sides are yummy too. Service great and friendly. This is a casual dress restaurant and is very close to Morro Rock. They also have a fresh fish market with food cooked there also. Yum! Yum!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I won't go rushing back ....”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I wouldnt do a special trip to visit Morro Bay unless its just a stopover. We thought the wharfside would be the best bet for a seafood restaurant. The crab was prepacked and
I should have realised that may not be the best. The Morro Bay oysters were not chilled sufficiently. Chowder luke warm and just tasted of cream. Popcorn shrimp heavily breadcrumbed. And an out of tuned duo in a very bad suit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukamakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I have lived in the area since 1998 and when my wife and I and our friends want quality and fresh seafood, we always eat here. They have a daily fresh seafood special which is always great as a main dish or in a sandwich. They also have a variety of other choices on the menu, including the seafood quesadilla and Admiral's Platter, as well as fish and chips. Much of the fish comes from local fisherman, so you know from whom and what you are eating. The owners and the staff are all friendly and professional. It's a great place all around.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian-of-Cayucos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tognazzini's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing