We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting for a morning on the bay. ”

Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spectacular views and outdoor tables make this "Bistro on the Bay" a perfect spot to relax, enjoy a latte or organic coffee and hot breakfast.Breakfast is served all day. In addition to the indoor seating, there are 18 outdoor waterfront tables to enjoy watching the seals, otters, pelicans and other nature as well as watching the sailboats drift by. There is soothing live weekend entertainment in the morning and it gets a bit kicked up in the afternoon during happy hour and they have their own house wine among a great wine list. The scene is gorgeous and a glassed in area is provided to enjoy the outdoors when it is windy. Sunset is beautiful from this location while dinner is served. Fresh local seafood is the main dish along with pastas and fresh salads.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great setting for a morning on the bay. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice little table outside next to the dock overlooking Moro Rock. My breakfast of scrambled eggs with spinach, tomatoes, and mushroom, topped with avocado was delicious. My husband had the country potatoes, also excellent. My son only ordered hot chocolate, but it did look like a treat. Wish we could linger a little longer but we had so much more to see!

Helpful?
Thank movaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    116
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Sky Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

What a fabulous place. Great service, great food and the most wonderful place to see Morro Bay. I can recommend this place wholeheartedly. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 376Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a weekend in Morro Bay and had our last meal at the Blue Sky - what a terrible way to end such a fun weekend. The service was just awful - shall I saw absent? The interior dining area is cramped and has zero charm.

If you want to see the beautiful views that the Bay has to offer, you should eat here - you will have plenty of time to take in the beauty from your table as you wait, and wait, and wait, and wait, and wait for the staff to welcome you, to take your order, to deliver your food, to bring you your bill, and bring your change.

Windows on the Water is just a few doors down - make the short walk and eat there instead.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Cap_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed our breakfast and the view was great! Food was good, but there was a bit of a wait. The café seems to be going through an identity crisis, in the process of changing names, etc. Hope all goes well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnygal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We had just visited Morro Bay for an event we went to. We were a group of 8-10. We arrived Friday afternoon and set out to find a place to eat. Still early evening and the crowds were small. We came across the Blue Sky Bistro and said let's try it. They had a great selection of wine and beer. Most all local varieties. I had Seas Bass and it was great. Everyone who ate said they were more than full and the food was great. The staff was friendly and professional and we would all recommend them. Casual type dining on the water. Liked it so much we all went to breakfast there the next morning and it to was great. Thanks Blue Sky.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing