We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spectacular views and outdoor tables make this "Bistro on the Bay" a perfect spot to relax, enjoy a latte or organic coffee and hot breakfast.Breakfast is served all day. In addition to the indoor seating, there are 18 outdoor waterfront tables to enjoy watching the seals, otters, pelicans and other nature as well as watching the sailboats drift by. There is soothing live weekend entertainment in the morning and it gets a bit kicked up in the afternoon during happy hour and they have their own house wine among a great wine list. The scene is gorgeous and a glassed in area is provided to enjoy the outdoors when it is windy. Sunset is beautiful from this location while dinner is served. Fresh local seafood is the main dish along with pastas and fresh salads.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The fancy grilled cheese sandwiches are delicious (I was told they're great with chicken added). Nice patio, good service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    116
    27
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradley
Level Contributor
359 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A local recommended this café and I'm so glad he did! It sits adjacent to the marina and has a wonderful view. There is ample outdoor seating but it was early in the morning and a little too chilly for me so we sat inside by the windows. The servers were so friendly. I loved my breakfast (I think it's called the Blue Skye combo that included eggs, toast, fresh fruit, homestyle potatoes and I ordered a side of sausage). My husband had the biscuits and gravy and enjoyed it. I loved the fact that their gravy consists of not only sausage but also bacon pieces. Prices are decent; very clean surroundings. We need to go back to try their clam chowder and will do that when we visit Morro Bay again. If there is any drawback at all, it's that they only have the homestyle potatoes as opposed to hash browns, which I prefer. Their coffee was wonderful I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was delicious!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The food here was excellent, and the staff was really friendly! ! However, the seating arrangements are weird with self-seating but it's not that bad when the food is involved!! I had a breakfast burrito and it was huge! Couldn't finish it all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, great views!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The clam chowder bread bowl was excellent, especially the bread! The pastrami sandwich was a tasty treat. Food was better than average, and the views were remarkable!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideTravelerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Breakfast Server All Day”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Whether you sit outside on the pet friendly patio, behind the glass enclosures or inside the cafe, the food is delicious and attractively served. We returned the second day because the specials were terrific one day one. We were not disappointed the second time around. Both times we sat outside and watched the seals frolic in the water as the played on a small dock in the middle of the bay. The egrets, gulls and other water birds were fun to observe from our breakfast table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serenitygardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing