We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, reasonable prices”

Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #9 of 98 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spectacular views and outdoor tables make this "Bistro on the Bay" a perfect spot to relax, enjoy a latte or organic coffee and hot breakfast.Breakfast is served all day. In addition to the indoor seating, there are 18 outdoor waterfront tables to enjoy watching the seals, otters, pelicans and other nature as well as watching the sailboats drift by. There is soothing live weekend entertainment in the morning and it gets a bit kicked up in the afternoon during happy hour and they have their own house wine among a great wine list. The scene is gorgeous and a glassed in area is provided to enjoy the outdoors when it is windy. Sunset is beautiful from this location while dinner is served. Fresh local seafood is the main dish along with pastas and fresh salads.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had the eggs benedict - pretty darn good and the fruit on the side was nice and ripe. Service is excellent. Great harbor views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MorroAprille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    116
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch when we needed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the shrimp tacos - perfectly cooked shrimp, and not too gussied-up. We were seated just above the boats in the harbor on a sunny afternoon, great view of Morro Rock. Excellent service, reasonable prices. We had missed our lunch, so this 2:30pm meal was a lifesaver.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AsteriasNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent local fare, excellent service, and a great location by the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here on a tip from a waitress in Ventura - what a treat! The previous night's dinner was a disappointment, and the night and morning were foggy, so we were just about ready to cut our losses and get the heck out of Morro Bay. The Blue Skye Coastal Café fixed all that with an excellent breakfast (I had house-smoked salmon and eggs) and exemplary service. The next time we're in Morro Bay, we'll have breakfast here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront Spot in Moro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Dining outside and inside on the waterfront of Morro Bay; a very good value always. We had grilled sea bass and pasta with prawns, both excellent. Portion sizes are large. The wine list is short and heavy on locals. We did not go inside but looks fine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place on the bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Awesome breakfast, friendly service, beautiful view! We sat on the pet friendly patio with our puppy and were thoroughly impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Softballmom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing