We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant on the wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Otter Rock Cafe

Otter Rock Cafe
Ranked #29 of 98 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
161 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on the wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we went into the restaurant, they had the Monday night football on. We are from St. Louis and the Cardinals/Dodgers were playing. I asked if he would keep us posted on the ball game and he was kind enough to stop at our table frequently to update us. My husband had the clam chowder and it was very good. I had fish and chips. The arctic cod was also very good. Our waitress was very accommodating. We thought our corner of the room seemed dark so she turned on some lights. We would recommend this cafe to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    71
    30
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Rules”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped in for a light snack. Had wonderful Jalapenos and Clam Chowder. Extensive list of specialty mixed drinks. Adequate wine and beer. Nice Happy hour. Live music starts at 8:00. We enjoyed the food and a beautiful view of the bay.
Servers are very attentive and try to please. We return as often as we are in Morro Bay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A special evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very good meal of local food and wine listening to live music. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable and the service was excellent. We had a local recommendation and were very glad we tried this cafe. It was one of those evenings that makes a place and a trip special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IYGTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Picture perfect place. Delicious food. Kind service. What else can a man and a woman ask.
I was my first trip to the states, and I'm glad to come to such "unknown" gems.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxim_United
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
230 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Average at Best, But A Pretty Good View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant was nothing special, but many of the seats have a nice view of the harbor and Morro Rock. On a nice day (or if you're dressed warmly) you can sit on the patio for an even better view. The service was a little slow, especially considering I was there around 11am and they were not busy.

You need a four-digit code to enter the area where they have the two unisex bathrooms, which they don't seem to spend a lot of time cleaning. The one on the left has an unusual urinal (at least I hope it was a urinal). They don't take American Express, and they have a minimum charge for Visa and MC. If your bill is less than the minimum (not including tip) they will gladly round up a few cents to the minimum amount so you can use your credit card.

It's one of a number of “view” restaurants in the area which are worth going to once, but probably not twice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Rock Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Otter Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing