We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips on the Water $9.99”
Review of Otter Rock Cafe

Otter Rock Cafe
Ranked #30 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Los Banos
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips on the Water $9.99”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We go to Morro Bay probably 6 times a year. In all those times, we had never eaten here. We stopped in and it was not busy. Food was served up quickly. Pretty tasty and a good size portion. Don't know about dinner prices though. We will go back next time

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    76
    32
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Music and beer on the Embarcadero”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Otter Rock serves up some decent food to go along with live music on a regular basis. The food is so-so and a little high-priced for what you get, but it sits right on the edge of the bay, so it's fun to stop by for a beer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beach-Nana93402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bad Choice for Lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were visiting Morro Bay for the day and saw this casual place that overlooked the water so we gave it a try. Of all the places we had to choose from that day, it's too bad we chose this one. We did get a nice seat by the back windows that look out over the water. OK, good start. The waitress was attentive at first and waited for our drink orders and later our food orders. Almost 45 minutes later our food finally began to show up and never did the waitress every come back to check on us prior to that. Our table orders included nachos, fish tacos, fish & chips, quesadilla, club sandwich, and a veggie sandwich. The veggie sandwich showed up 5 minutes after the rest of the food and after we got the waitress's attention to ask about it. It was obvious she was trying to wait and bus all the tables in the area and might have been a little overwhelmed by it. But that doesn't explain the slow kitchen. Food was nothing special. My fish tacos should have given top billing to the cabbage. This was a cabbage taco with some grilled fish. Had the service been a little better/quicker, we probably would have been fine. Maybe I would have given it a 3 instead of 2. Maybe.

Perhaps this is a better bar than restaurant, I don't know. I do know that we won't bother coming back. There are plenty of other places to choose from in this area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice view - Good Snacks”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were looking for a happy hour place to have a couple beers and enjoy the sunset over Morro Rock. This fit the bill nicely. We had coconut shrimp, which was tasty, and a few oysters on the half shell. Right on target.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trojan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is good but the view is better!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love to watch the activity on the bay. Prices are fair and the food fresh. It seems they redid their menu and it looks more limited than before. Still, the food was good except the fries which tasted like they were cooked in old oil and overcooked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAIDERKEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Rock Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Otter Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing