We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is good but the view is better!”
Review of Otter Rock Cafe

Otter Rock Cafe
Ranked #30 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is good but the view is better!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love to watch the activity on the bay. Prices are fair and the food fresh. It seems they redid their menu and it looks more limited than before. Still, the food was good except the fries which tasted like they were cooked in old oil and overcooked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAIDERKEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    72
    30
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Casual Restaurant, Food was Good...Waterviews”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came here because I wanted to try some of the different clam chowders here. I had a bread bowl and it was really filling. This is not a fancy restaurant but a good place to get something to eat and some cocktails in a casual atmosphere. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner also.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On the Bay”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Restaurant, entertainment, dancing. Average food; full bar; some good music; pick up joint for middle aged folk

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bloren3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food, nice view”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After visiting Morro Rock we decided to have lunch in the waterfront. There are many choices there and we were happy with our choice. The restaurant is located on the waterfront, with a bar, music area in the front and all of the seating in the back where the water is. They have some outside seating and the patio looked like it had heaters, so when it gets chilly, you can still enjoy your meal. The lunch menu was fairly basic, Fish and chips, burgers, salads, sandwiches. My wife had a club sandwich. It was a pretty run of the mill sandwich, although it did have lots of bacon. The turkey was sliced from a roll, there looked to be 3 medium slices. The sandwich came with a genrous portion of fries. I had a cod speical, 3 pieces of cod plus 2 sides for $ 10.95. The cod could come either fried or grilled. I chose the grilled and there were 3 nice peices of grilled cod and the chocies of sides were soup (clam chowder or the soup of the day which was cabbage and linguica, fries or cole slaw. I chose to have a double side of the cabbage and linguica soup. The soup was a little spicy with great flavor and a few pieces of linguica. My mel was excellent and I thought it was a pretty good bargain too. They do give you a sample of the soup if you want to try it first. The service was excellent. We would probably go here again if we were in the area. They seem to have a lot of live music there too. The chairs are more of the resin, outdoor type chairs but were comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, service, music, and atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We happened into this place for dinner since other restaurants were booked up (and honestly seemed a bit too pretentious anyway). We are glad we ended up here! I found no fault w/ the food - I had curried scallops (skeptical, ordered them anyway, and they were excellent), the hubby had some kind of wrap, and the son gobbled down his dinner. Homemade pumpkin pie for dessert was outstanding, and it definitely was homemade. Drinks were generous.
Then there was the foursome of 50's-60's dudes that rocked the place. I wasn't expecting much to look at them, but their entire set was awesome - CSNY, Clapton, Beatles, Dylan, and much much more. They were actually good! ;)
Our waiter was excellent, very attentive and was on top of everything.
This was a fun and entertaining stop. Would definitely visit again if we're in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jafrju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Rock Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Otter Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing