We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, service, music, and atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otter Rock Cafe

Otter Rock Cafe
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, service, music, and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We happened into this place for dinner since other restaurants were booked up (and honestly seemed a bit too pretentious anyway). We are glad we ended up here! I found no fault w/ the food - I had curried scallops (skeptical, ordered them anyway, and they were excellent), the hubby had some kind of wrap, and the son gobbled down his dinner. Homemade pumpkin pie for dessert was outstanding, and it definitely was homemade. Drinks were generous.
Then there was the foursome of 50's-60's dudes that rocked the place. I wasn't expecting much to look at them, but their entire set was awesome - CSNY, Clapton, Beatles, Dylan, and much much more. They were actually good! ;)
Our waiter was excellent, very attentive and was on top of everything.
This was a fun and entertaining stop. Would definitely visit again if we're in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jafrju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    70
    28
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Need a "Bar Rescue"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I live in SLO county and have been to Otter Rock in the past and since we were in the area, we decided to stop in again. What a mistake!! This place needs John Taffer to perform a Bar Rescue. It is definitely on the downslope. Food was horrible. Starting with the pasta dish which was just overdone wilted pasta with sprinkles of tomatoes and a few sprigs of basil with raw garlic. The garlic overpowered the dish. One of the drinks that was ordered was supposed to a high end martini but it just turned out to be vodka with cherry syrup from a jar. Awful. Service was adequate but when you have such horrible food and libations, the servers hands are tied. Not to mention, you pay a decent amount of money and are eating on plastic patio tables and chairs. It was also filthy! We will not go there again! Where are you John Taffer?!?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icingnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful food, but great music and fun”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A group of us went here to celebrate a birthday. I have been here many times, but never for a meal, as I had been warned about the food by many friends.The music was great, we danced and had a great evening after dinner. The meal however, was really bad. Really, really bad. All of us had something different and all of us had the same opinion. Ick. I got nachos and the beans tasted like dish soap, the guacamole looked like pesto, basically it was just nasty. (Who can ruin nachos?) The other people in our group had similar complaints, mainly that their food just tasted weird or spoiled. The service was very good and our server was very attentive. The atmosphere is pretty grungy, but if you just want a fun night out, this is probably the best place in Morro Bay to go, just don't eat there....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The worst service I've ever encountered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Made a vacation trip to Morro Bay week of Aug 22nd and we selected the Otter Rock Cafe for some evening entertainment and drinks.. If you want to eat or drink at a good establishment DO NOT go here. The drinks are the worst and if you don't like what you ordered you are forced to pay for it anyway. I've traveled the world and I have never been treated with such disrespect and a don't care attitude. I highly suggest trying any other restaurant or not at all if the Otter Rock Cafe is your only choice.
I'll never ever go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisah101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have gone for years to this place for dinner and the live music. This last dine in, we were a little disappointed. Service was good, but the food was just OK. Unfortunately their menu has changed too. I remember them having more selections. Probably will only go back for the night time entertainment: drinks and live music.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Rock Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Otter Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing