We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

VERY VERY nice place to stay, the best on our trip. Felt like home. Breakfast area was good (8 out of 10), needed to be kept clean better & needed Sugar Free syrup.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr-bronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    199
    66
    23
    20
See reviews for
147
336
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Sure, the rooms are a bit older, hence the floral design and the out-of-date TV, but those things are inconsequential to us. Ascot is our go to spot in Morro Bay and we really have no complaints. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is spacious, cool and comfortable, with a huge bed (both times we've stayed in a King room), a great jacuzzi tub, refrigerator, sitting area and desk. You're close to Embarcadero, so plenty of restaurants and shops are within walking distance. There's free breakfast and a free wine and cheese reception in the evenings.

In our opinion, for $180 + tax for the night, it really doesn't get any better around here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alosha7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed overnight in the hotel. The location is great - one block back from the beachfront. Rooms were large, very clean and well furnished with excellent beds. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was the best we had on our travels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

sometimes you don't. I need to write more positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we certainly stay in some nice places. It just seems what moves me to write about the places we stay, are the ones I think people should steer clear of.

We are staying in Morro for three nights so I opted for the "best" room Ascot offered, the Tudor Suite. The "best" room just did not do it for us.

L shaped strange layout with the parlor portion of the room, a triangle. Nice faux fireplace and a flatscreen above. The room so small with only a couch and you 10 feet from the screen, you could not watch the television without getting a neck-ache. (Difficult to describe.)

Then you walk through the bathroom to the bedroom. Weird high ceiling in the bedroom with a strange four poster bed, top of the matress about 3.5 feet off the ground. You need a step stool to actually get into the bed, and they actually do provide one!

The room is worn, everything in need of being refinished or replaced with the exception of the flooring.

The bath is truly yucky with mildew on the grout in the shower/bath. I asked to have it cleaned, it was not. Finger prints on the walls, broken door lock on the pocket door, dark as night with the lights on. Frightening to say the least.

There is a rooftop sitting area that would be nice if it was taken care of, it is not. They also have a jacuzzi that would be awesome, especially at night, but alas, it is dead and closed up.

The positives, good location, we have a cross breeze as we are in the corner unit, the room has a balcony and the staff is pleasant. They have a hosted wine hour with some decent choices and some Chexmix sorta snack. Breakfast is typical of what you might find in a free continental.

For what we are paying, $179 for Thursday, $269 for Friday and Saturday, I feel it is way overpriced. I would rather take my chances with one of the many old motels that dot the landscape here in Morro, pay less and not be surprised with the result.

Just my humble opinion mindya!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

What an odd room...a real working window in the wall b/w the bathroom and main room. Leave the curtains open for a peep...odd

We must have gotten the worst room, mildew around the bathtub, water jets in the tub but no way to turn them on, a bath mat that should have been thrown away years ago. It seemed we had one of the few rooms with no balcony - no cross ventilation and apparently no a/c. 2 of 3 lamps in the room didn't work and the lamp that did work was barely bright enough to illuminate the room.

Lots of services crossed off the hotel guide - seriously word processors and Kinkos - word.

Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Wine tasting was canceled the day we arrived.

I would not go back unless we were desparate for a room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khmetalworkdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Cute quaint little setting. Good ocean view. Within walking distance of shopping and eating.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizMadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Only a few blocks from the water front and easy walking distance. Room was very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. We had a junior suite and it came w/ a fireplace. small hitch w/ internet svc - connection kept getting dropped repeatedly which was annoying. There's a cafe right across the street which served the most awesome cup of coffee I had on our entire trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Property: Ascot Inn at the Rock
Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing