We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a wonderful small motel. Great location, affordable and extremely friendly staff. Linda could not have been more helpful during our stay. Our room was spacious, and more importantly, spotless. The location is near shopping and all attractions. My only problem in writing this review is that it may encourage too many people to visit this special place. I hope that they will have room for us during our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the "Rock".
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Inn at the Rock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 605 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was affordable and located near the water and we just wanted a decent, clean place to sleep for our day trip to Hearst Castle. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only negative was that our room was, I think, the only room that faced the back of the property, which was not great. Looks out on to some shacks where someone was doing construction all day. So I wouldn't recommend room #209! Other than that, it was everything I expected and not a bad value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytripper1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms at a Ascot Suites are very comfortable - even ours was did not include the balcony and hot tub. Great view.

Breakfast was good ( not the greatest ) but suffice for our needs - the breakfast room was very small.

I would very much recommend Ascot Suites for your stay in Morro Bay - it's very close to shopping and restaurants and it even has (free) covered parking.

Check in and check out was handled very professional and friendly. The wine tasting hour 5:30-6:30 was a very nice touch and appreciated very much after a long day in the car.

Room Tip: For the summer months get a room with the balcony - also check out the rooftop jacuzzi and patio
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lellieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderful inn during a Pacific coast highway drive from San Diego to San Francisco. We had requested a room on the top floor, away from elevator noise and with a great view of the Rock, and couldn't have got a nicer room. Clean too. Linda, who works the front desk, was very friendly and helpful. They have a nice hot breakfast and offer great covered parking, that came in very handy the day we left, which happened to be a rainy morning. Based on our experience, we highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Itinerants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lindsey warmly welcomed us with generous pours at a wine tasting after we had walked along the embarcadero. We enjoyed talking about history with other affable strangers.

Dinner at the memorable Galley for f-r-e-s-h fish involved a brisk but easy walk.

Though part of a small chain, this Ascot has been individualized into a British B and B with covered parking AND a view of the Seventh Sister rock. But an English breakfast it did not serve with fried tomatoes and bangers! We, however, aren't complaining: eggs, sausages, biscuits with gravy as well as waffles, oatmeal, juices.

If anything, we needed a nap before heading south to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CygnetSanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I usually write what I hope to be concise, no-nonsense reviews. However I seriously spent most of my 1-night stay here running around by bedroom, which was completely decorated like an English country home, pretending to answer an imaginary telephone with my best British accent "BOUUUUQUET RESIDENCE! Lady of the house speaking!!!!' So be forewarned this is not a normal review.

For any old school BBC fans out there... remember that amazing comedy called "Keeping Up Appearances"? It was about a prim and proper middle aged lady, Hyacinth Bucket, who drove her husband and whole neighborhood crazy trying to be a socialite, trying to be better than everybody. Even though her last name was "Bucket" she made everyone pronounce it "Bouquet" to sound fancy. It was a great show, hilarious, and one of her great catchphrases was the way she answered her phone "Bouquet residence, lady of the house speaking!" with a trilling voice. Youtube it, I promise you'll laugh.

Anyway, Hyacinth's house in the show was a tidy English house, with knick knacks and trinkets and tea cups all over the place, and that's what this hotel reminded me. We had a grandfather clock and a porcelain figurine over our mantel, rose wallpaper, rose curtains, rose comforter, rose EVERYTHING. It was hilarious and amazing, and I loved it. I'm not sure it's where you'd put your fancy boss from NYC, but it's where I'd put my entire family on vacation.

As for details: the front desk staff was very kind and welcoming. Check in was easy. We came late and the gal helped us find a restaurant that was still open. They even have a selection of dvds you can check out for free. The rooms were clean and simple, we had a fireplace and couch which we LOVED, a whirlpool tub, a giant four poster bed, and lots of light in our corner room. There was also a fridge in the room. Breakfast the next morning was great... cute dining area with even more tea cups and english porcelain figurines! Breakfast was continental style, with hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereal, etc. The location is right on main street and walking distance to the shore.

Overall this is not your typical Ramada Inn, but we thought it had so much character and really enjoyed it. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank copy_that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ascot Suites in the first week of March. We were warmly welcomed by Linda at the front desk. She has the right personality for the job which she seems to enjoy very much. At any hotel, it is the staff that creates the lasting impression. She is cheerful, helpful and overall an asset to the Ascot Suites.

Although the decor is dated (lots of wall paper and frilly drapes) it is very clean and comfortable -- the fireplace is a nice touch. We had asked for adjacent rooms which they were able to give us facing the Rock in Morro Bay. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the Rock
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8Traveller28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $134 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing