We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I were traveling along the Pacific Costal Highway and Morro Bay was one of the stops. This hotel is 2 blocks away from the bay so you are close to all the restaurants. The room is pretty good - but the decorations are bit vintage (?) for us who are at our early 30s. Linda at the front desk was very helpful. Will stay again if had a chance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Solus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 622 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our stay was very nice. Linda was very helpful even after we left. Rooms were very nice and very affordable. I do they they could pay a little more attention to detail in cleanliness of the rooms. There was dust under the furnture, needs to be moved once in awhile to be cleaned. Other than that we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My companion and I are deaf and Linda at the front desk was extremely helpful. We felt welcomed and was amazed by our suite. He has been to Morro Bay numerous of times but never stayed in this suite. We both will strongly recommend this place and return here again. I miss this place already and we were just there this week! The fireplace, sitting area, free wifi, breakfast, wine tasting, and lovely bathroom with jacuzzi tub made this place a slice of heaven. It also set a romantic vibe. This is located right near the Morro Rock and delicious restaurants. Perfect all around.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nassim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I were in Morro Bay for our anniversary. We decided to stay at Ascot Suites. Good choice. Sadly with it being so close to Christmas the town was somewhat deserted and it showed at the hotel. In fact most hotels/motels in town were rather empty. We found our room to be absolutely great. We stayed in the Tudor Suite and it had a fire place. Nice touch. If I had to complain about anything it would be the fact that there was a large tree across the street that blocked the view of the Morro Bay Rock. We found the staff to be polite and helpful. No doubt that we'll stay here again if in town.

ATTN Trip Advisor: below my review is a list for ratings. You should have a N/A if nothing applies.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got a good price from Priceline for a two nights getaway so I wasn't expecting much. This is my first stay at this hotel.To my surprise my room is nice and clean even with a gas fireplace. The hotel is only one block away from the main blvd, you can walk to restaurants and shops. Their breakfast is the best I've ever get from hotels that provide free breakfast. They serve with real stoneware not plastic. In the evening they have free wine tasting. The manager Steve is a very friendly guy he makes customer like me feels like home away from home. Oh...one more thing I have to mention is that they have parkings indoor so it was a plus on a cold rainy night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cleo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ascot Suites and were extremely impressed with the property. We were greeted by front desk person Pablo who was quick to get us checked in and conveyed the best place to park under the underground parking to protect our car from the sea mist. Our room had a very comfortable king bed, a fireplace and a refrigerator AND a veiw of the Morro Rock.
The hotel has a wonderful breakfast which included biscuits n' gravy, waffles, cereal(s), toast, juice and other items.Check out was handled by Linda and was done with ease. We appreciated her help with information we needed for our trip continuing north. She is definitely an asset to the organization and made our stay that much more of a pleasure. We have stayed at several other hotels in Morro Bay in the past but the quality of this property, the professionalism of the staff made this a superior location. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 315 was great. It is on the third floor but the elevator was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank red-goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just finished reading the negative reviews on Ascot Suites prior to writing mine. I'd temper the negatives for after 6 yearly stays we've found the complex to be clean, neat and very conveniently located with attentive staff (Linda is most courteous) and nice amenities. Breakfast is better than a typical continental, the wine hour is always consistent with local wines, wi fi works, room jaccuzzi is clean and works well. I'd recommend, if possible, a mid week stop for rates are down and few tourists in the town with some great dinner specials. Staying here beats Paso, Pismo and SLO. Cambria is cutesy, but we prefer the variety in Morro Bay with the Ascot Suites as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank havilatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Inn at the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Inn at the Rock

Address: 260 Morro Bay Blvd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $121 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascot Inn at the Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover coastal charm and European elegance at Ascot Suites, walking distance of restaurants, shops and galleries, while enjoying the historic beauty of a relaxing getaway to the California Coast. Choose from accommodations with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, classic furnishings and modern amenities such as cable TV and coffee service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Inn at the Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Morro Bay
Ascot Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing