We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morro Bay Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterpiece Hotel(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$120
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$115
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
19
40
36
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
40
36
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorro rockgreat ratemini fridgecontinental breakfast isstar hotelwater pressurefew blocksbed was very comfortablethe ground floorplace to stayshops and restaurantstvcoastfixturesdryerunitinns
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 122 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Even though it wasn't close to downtown, I booked at Econo Lodge because everywhere else was either unreasonably expensive or was booked. Now I'm glad I found this gem. The owner was very helpful - recommended a restaurant, suggested a nearby grocery, and gave me the name of a good bakery downtown. When I came back through town two days later, she had held the room I requested and everything was in order.
The first morning, I was disappointed there was no decaffeinated coffee, but waited until I was checking out to mentioned it. They said that most people didn't drink it and so it was always left over, but they would make it on request. When I returned, I asked if there could be decaf the next morning - and sure enough, there was! That's the sort of service that turns a standard, "good-for-a-couple-of-nights" motel into a spot I'd return to and would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack p, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Janak Panchal, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this rev
thnkyou

Thank You,
Econo Lodge Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything was booked up for miles- so much for spur of the minute travel. So we were glad to at least get a room. But $200 for Econolodge!? We booked over the cell phone and he took my credit card, but when we got there he was fairly insistent we pay with cash. I've never been asked to pay with cash at a hotel. He said it was because he doesn't like to pay the credit card company fees-I wonder if he's just pocketing the difference? When we began questioning the charges he picked up our paperwork and tore it up. If we had had somewhere else to go I'd have been happy to go elsewhere but he had us over a barrel and he knew it. We ended up paying &160 in cash and $40 on Visa. As for the room-it was adequate. Decent location, safe but very small, tight parking lot, clean room, breakfast nothing exciting-and as things were used, i.e.juice, cereal, etc. he didn't refill anything- definitely first come-maybe the only one served. Not a place I'd ever return to- but more importantly I doubt I'll ever try another Econolodge again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ElaynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack p, Owner at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

sorry it wos wrong locason review you send,
this femely on operet lodge,
if you sty with us then sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I passed through Morro Bay last year on a similar road trip, but did not spend the night. This year I decided that I wanted to stay over. I arrived on a Friday afternoon and discovered that I had walked in on the weekend of the annual Classic Car Show. Arriving at a beach town on the weekend of a special event is decidedly not good for the budget minded traveler. I tried two places that quoted $119 before ending up at the Econo Lodge for $89 plus tax. The two bedded room was spacious and clean throughout. The bed was comfortable and the facilities completely satsfactory. There was a coffee maker and hair dryer, but no microwave or fridge. I could see Morro Rock from my window. I enjoyed feeding the squirrels and the seagulls on the beach adjacent to the rock. I had never seen squirrels that would literally climb right up on you to snatch strawberries and apple slices. The seagulls also flew right down and took the same from my upstretched arm. The rock itself is amazing especially up close. You can walk among the boulders on the back side and get incredible views. There was a parade through town of the antique cars early in the evening and I watched it for a while. All in all, a nice stay in a very scenic spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monamkj, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge, Morro Bay and appreciating our service. Thank you for doing business with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Econolodge at 1100 Main St., in Morro Bay, CA. Our room was on the ground floor, was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast included dry cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and milk, which was perfect for us. The Econolodge is within a few blocks of the waterfront which has a choice of many restaurants and shops. We would choose this reasonably priced motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary91711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack P, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm jack
econo lodge
8057725609

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed one night on our way up the coast. Our room had a good view of Morro Rock, it was close to the bay, and a reasonable price. No major complaints. The continental breakfast was decent, but what i really liked were the trays to carry food/coffee/etc. up to the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moulin829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack P, Manager at Morro Bay Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2015

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm jack
econo lodge
8057725609

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews