We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay once again”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great stay once again”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

4th stay here - pet friendly - BIG rooms - new management super nice - walking distance to shops and dining - ask for upstairs view of The Rock and balcony a must - get Days Inn card and get another 5% off , Fun night life right around the corner - "Legends" - and huge liquor store that has everything including toothpaste!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    329
    129
    43
    29
See reviews for
271
326
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I booked this motel through the Days Inn web site. Upon arrival, a confused, and rather unfriendly desk clerk, informed us that there was no vacancy. I showed him my confirmation and he just shrugged - no rooms. So my pregnant wife and I were left to find a room at 10:00 p.m. at night with ZERO assistance of the troubled clerk. After calling 50+ hotels and finding no vacancy for at least 120 miles we decided to abort our planned trip up Cal 1 (Pacific Coast Highway) and drive to Salinas a good 2.5 hours away. Our trip was ruined by a hotel chain's web booking -as driving the 1 was THE REASON we were in the area! Days Inn initially offered me a $20 credit toward a future stay. I contacted their corporate office and they upped it to $75.00. They can keep their $75 and fix their web booking system - IF ANYONE IS STUPID ENOUGH TO USE IT! Seriously people, more than half of the reviews on this hotel are negative.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

With a family wedding taking place on the beach in Cayucos, we needed six hotel rooms in the area. Initially we found good reviews for the Days Inn Morro Bay. When we arrived all six rooms were ready. The staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel was clean and well maintained. We especially enjoyed the large room size that all the rooms in the hotel provide.

The hotel is a short walk to shops on the water in Morro Bay. Morro Rock is off in the distance. It is a very nice location and setting.

Often two star hotels are disappointing. This hotel was not. It was a good value providing an excellent stay on an excellent day. I hope we can stay here again sometime in the future.

.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, Ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My daughter was getting married in Montana De Oro State Park which is just a few miles south of Morro Bay. I chose the Days Inn because of the price and they were able to handle a large group. I had family coming from out of town at different times so I reserved 7 rooms. My sister and her husband with 2 young children had been driving all night and arrived at the hotel at 10 am and asked if it was possible to check in that early. The friendly staff was happy to give them a clean room to rest and get cleaned up. The rest of us arrived later in the afternoon and the check in was seamless. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It's been a while since I've experienced customer service of this caliber. The rooms were all wonderful. I didn't notice any musty smell or anything of the sort like some of the reviews mentioned. They were all clean and well kept. They were just installing a new wireless service but I didn't get a chance to use it. The view of Morrow Rock was magnificent from the 2nd floor. My group was large (23 people) so we did make a little noise that evening and upset one of the tennants. I apologized the next day and offered to pay for the man's room but the staff had already refunded his money and wouldn't accept my money to pay them back. I will definately go back to this hotel and will recommend it to anyone traveling out that way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MheathCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I've stayed at a few Days Inn motels before, so I know they can be hit and miss, but...
while traveling on a recent road trip, I had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Days Inn in Morro Bay, California. I say unfortunate because there is nothing positive I can say about this dump! The carpeting is worn out and smells like stale cigarettes—even though it is a "smoke-free room." The lights above the beds have lampshades that disintegrate at the slightest touch, and the manager that checked us in, sent me on a wild goose chase by casually pointing in the direction of my room. I had to climb the stairs with heavy suitcases twice because he couldn't even take the time to give clear directions.
My advice is to stay somewhere else! You may pay a few dollars more, but you'll sleep much better knowing you didn't get ripped off!

My message to Days Inn: please visit this location before you allow it to totally ruin your corporate image!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Days Inn at Morro Bay is a quaint property. Bungalow style, clean and a good view from the balcony overlooking the water.

My only complaint would be the wi-fi. I asked the mgr when I checked in if they had a good wireless connection and he assured me they did. I was able to log in once and then was booted off after a few minutes. I called and they assured me it was fine. After that the signal deteriorated and could not be picked up for the remainder of the evening.

Overall, it's a decent place but don't stay here expecting a wireless connection.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprklhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

If you don't mind a couple of hills, this Days Inn is an easy walk down to the waterfront, and there is a inexpensive trolley/bus system to bring you back if you know the way.

You can see the Morro Rock from just about anywhere in town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 1095 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2003 (Formerly Days Inn Morro Bay)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing