We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Location”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We paid $99 for the ocean view, which was very picturesque despite the near view of rooftops. We listened to seals bark much of the evening which added pleasure to the evening. The hotel is showing its age in decor and upkeep. The lack of air conditioning was not an issue at all-an open window brought in fresh ocean air and the ceiling fan was all the cooling needed.
A couple of odd things did bother us slightly: the bathrooms are at the front of the rooms, windows opening on to the walkway where room doors are located. If you need an open window AND privacy when you shower and do your business, this is not the property for you! The other thing was when I plugged in my unattached phone charger, all electrical things (lights, TV, clock) went dark. I quickly pulled the plug and they all came back on. Scary!
When all is said and done, the property was quiet, very clean and comfortable, shower pressure was good, it was close to restaurants, water front, gas stations and grocery store. Management was helpful and courteous. We wanted a clean, quiet place close to Hearst Castle and got very lucky! We would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    331
    129
    43
    29
See reviews for
271
327
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

When we stayed at the Days Inn Morro Bay in September 2010 it had just been taken over by new franchisees. They started to renovate the rooms and repaint all the buildings and you probably had to be lucky enough to get one of the renovated rooms. We did and were satisfied with it. The Days Inn is your average motel with the typical furnishings and not a five star hotel. Our room was clean and the bathroom was clean as well. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The Days Inn is located just a couple of blocks away from the pier but do not expect a view even if the reservation system makes you believe otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnHarborHouse, General Manager at Harbor House Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Greetings Cheri W,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Days Inn - Morro Bay. We are pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable visit. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your spacious accommodation and with all the amenities we have to offer.Also you liked our upgraded rooms and surroundings. we are glad to know that you had a great time with us on your special occasion. It is our goal to provide our guests with the Home comforts and service we feel they deserve and am pleased we are able to do so for you. We look forward to welcoming you to in the near future.
Warm Regards,
The Days Inn- Morro Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

After checking out Morro Bay's dog friendly hotels, we settled on Day's Inn and were so happy with the choice. Two families, 3 dogs and no problems - how often does that happen! The rooms are extra big, balconies overlooking Morro Rock and a really sharp manager who did everything to make our stay pleasant. They have a minimal continental breakfast but plenty of that and everything clean with 3 tables for inside eating. We'll stay there next time we're on the Central Coast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyShoesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night. The "non-smoking room" smelled of cigarettes and heavy chemical deodorizers. One of the pillows smelled of urine, the sheets were paper thin, the carpet was stained, fleas were jumping on our legs! We requested another room to be told they were fully booked but there were very few cars in the parking lot. This could not be more than a one star motel at best. They rarely answer their business phone so friends and family related to the wedding we were attending could not reach us.

If you want a night's sleep, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groomsmother_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
62025
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2011

clean and spacious room. for coastal town motel, this is good value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderfree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Our plan was to stay in Morro Bay for a day or two to rest after a fairly strenuous vacation, before heading back home. We ended up staying extra nights for the pleasure of exploring Morro Bay and environs, made possible by the friendly, accommodating, and reasonably priced lodging offered by this hotel and manager Amit. From the outset Amit's response to my unfortunately garbled reservations was wonderful. In traveling with my adult son, I had made reservations while distracted (my fault), and thought i reserved two second floor ocean view rooms, but had actually chosen something else, impressed by the reasonable AAA price. The rooms I actually wanted were at least 30% more per night. Without hesitation, the premium rooms ( adjoining, second floor, ocean view, 2 queens each) were given to us at the original price, which was extended through the rest of the weekend, even though the hotel was nearly sold out, and prices were listed as considerably higher.
The hotel is what you would expect from the Days Inn chain, thoroughly adequate, clean, utiliatarian, and practical. What made the stay especially enjoyable was the welcome we felt, the kindness and generosity extended, in things such as graciously holding the breakfast just a bit later , suggesting the "special muffins" brought that morning from SLO, and letting us check out an hour or so later- and meaning it when saying it was no problem. These are little things, but together with the genuine friendliness, made a difference- and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suncia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I found myself in Morro Bay unexpectedly for one night and looked at several bargain motels in the downtown area. My visits were guided by the Roomsaver coupon book. For $45, Days Inn was the by far the best value. There are cheaper motels, but they're solid one-star, bare-bones and show a lot of wear and tear.. I would rate this Days Inn between 1 1/2 and 2 stars on a five star scale and they seem to be keeping up with the maintenance challenges of a beach property. A real bonus for me was the lightening fast wifi.

My only regret was not paying $10 more for a view room. It's worth the extra bucks to wake up to an extraordinary view of Morro Rock. Don't cheap-out like me and deny yourself that experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 1095 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2003 (Formerly Days Inn Morro Bay)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing