We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for one night, lousy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed December 30, 2005

If you're passing through, and just need to crash for one night, it's perfectly fine. I found a $5 off coupon on their website, which made it an even better value. The room was decent. My only complain was the bed, that desperately needed to be replaced. Same goes for the pillows. I wouldn't stay there for more than one night. It's also within walking distance of the Embarcadero, so after a long drive, it was nice to take a walk.

4  Thank improvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2005

I arrived late at night without a reservation, having fled the Days Inn. Gave me a $78.00 rate. Very pleasant clerk offered to help with my luggage, gave me a quite acceptable room on second floor of middle unit. Room was good size, clean, with TV, microwave, refrigerator. Bed comfortable, very quiet room, no noise. Only complaint shower door did not close completely so there was quite a bit of water on tile floor. Could be a hazard of slipping. Continental breakfast is probably not worth going to lobby for. I don't know about the condition of other rooms but if you can get upper room in middle units it should be okay.

Good parking, pool heated, partial view of Morro Rock.

Stayed: October 2005
3  Thank silverjym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

We reserved a room over the internet but when we saw it my wife refused to stay - why? Hard to say - musty, dirty carpet, stained chairs, stained pillows. The staff were very helpful though, offered a second room - only slightly better - then cancelled our reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank WilliamHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Don't bother with this place unless you have no other options. The plumbing is so noisy it shakes the room. The carpet in the room did not feel clean under my feet and the bathroom floor wasn't clean. The blankets were clean(?) but had holes in them and were very thin. The mattress was equally threadbare. The place reeked of disenfectant, which is better than not smelling clean I imagine. The windows would not close properly or lock. The continental breakfast consisted of bad coffee, a carafe of warm juice and a couple of oversized chocolate muffins that had been cut into 4 or 6 pieces each and aranged on a tray. I won't go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smartony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Had a problem locating the property but initial impression was not so bad as some other reviewers have described. It is a basic Motel, nothing more and nothing less. The property has a small pool which was in active use.
We had a small Single Queen room on 2nd floor, with parking below. The room and bathroom were clean enough except for the carpet, which made your feet black. Bathroom had a small shower cubicle, w/c and washbasin in a small space. Shower pressure was not great. There was a small vanity unit with microwave and coffee maker outside, but the light fitting did not work.
Bed was comfortable and there was a reasonable size fridge. No air-con but ceiling fan was OK as Morro Bay was not exactly tropical.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, cereal, muffins cut into quarters, juice and coffee. There was no breakfast room so it had to be taken back to the room on trays provided.
The man at reception was pleasant. We were only there for one night, for which the Travelodge served its purpose and provided us a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocksteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2005

Stayed here 8/24-8/26. Nice check-in very friendly staff. My son and I came up to Morro Bay for a mid- week golf vacation. Dirty walls, Kinda like what i invision a " Motel 6 " would be like in terms of furnishings. Didn't eat the free breakfast. We were out of the room to play golf instead. If you golf be sure to play the Morro Bay course. Skip chalk Mountain, very rundown. Play Dairy Creek in the morning (wind). ate at Dorns for Dinner our first night. Pricey, but really good food, and lots of it. Great service. Also ate at Rosa's ....Great fish and chips.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed August 11, 2005

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit for a great price. It is walking distance to the boardwalk and a long walk to morro rock. Location was great, the room was clean. It is a motel and we parked our car right in front of the room.

They offer a continental breakfast, but we went fishing and missed the free food. The hotel is older and seems like my parents house - lived in - yet very clean. For the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Address: 1080 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2010 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: $63 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge Hotel Morro Bay
Travelodge Morro Bay
Travel Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Travelodge
Morro Bay Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing