We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a rockview”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite a rockview”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the Rockview and it was probably the worst of all the hotels we stayed in, in Oahu and Kona in Hawaii, San Francisco and Los Angeles on our recent trip. The owner was nice enough and the breakfast was a bonus especially the coffee and waffles. The hotel was quite small and you couldn't see the rock from the hotel or room. There were closer hotels and businesses in the way so I was initially disappointed by the place/location. However after walking across the road and down the hill I found an abundance of cute shops and places to eat and saw my first live American Squirrel which was cute. The microwave and fridge were a good addition to the hotel room but the floors were extremely dirty. Walking on them in bare feet gave you black feet. One of our sons kept washing his feet in the bath to try and get rid of the blackness before he went to bed. Bed was okay and pillows were comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    39
    18
    29
See reviews for
42
60
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this property the weekend of Cal Poly SLO graduation, which is undoubtedly their busiest weekend of the year. The owners couldn't be nicer, we found the room very clean and comfortable. They've recently updated interior and the beds were comfy, bathroom was in pretty good shape and I felt comfortable letting my 1 year old walk barefoot, touch anything, and take a bath in the tub. On saturday night the people above us were loudly dragging the chairs around / talking on the balcony (which you'd totally have to expect on graduation weekend BTW!) and woke us up. When I told the owner about it he left the room empty for sunday night so we wouldn't be disturbed, which I thought was really nice of him. Overall though the place was very quiet and restful, especially during a crazy partying weekend like this. It is also in a great location - walking distance to the warft area of Morro Bay. Great budget option, we will definitely be staying again, it's a great deal!

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms on the single story side would be quietest, or go for upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed a couple nights here, after a bit of a reservation snafu. Management fixed their mistake and were friendly about doing so. Get a room upstairs if you like quiet or are a light sleeper. We had a family above us with very bouncy children. Beds were good, rooms have fresh paint, bathrooms are hit and miss. We had 2 rooms, one was ok, the other was gross. Pictures below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how cute this hotel was. Our room appeared to have been recently updated. (Although the bathroom still needs a coat of paint and better quality towels would be great). Our kids were thrilled to have their bed in a separate alcove.
The hotel is within easy walking distance to the embarcadero.
overall, not fancy, but clean, great location, and with charm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If it weren't for the poor quality of the towels and the bathroom needing to be updated a little, I'd give it a "4" rating. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, nicely decorated, fridge, microwave, great mattress and pillows! Definitely a good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our room was a little noisy so the owner gladly moved us to a top floor room at the back that was quieter - nice guy

Rooms fairly basic but more than adequate, big bed, big TV - exactly what you'd expect from a motel

5min walk down on to the Bay Area where you can view Morro Rock and some really good seafood restaurants too

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j1mbojones94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this Inn, very good reviews. The room was quite spacious, the bathroom was big but no stopper to take a bath in (if you wanted too). They were in the middle of re-organizing hotel area and its parking. Originally there was a swimming pool, but as I can tell, the pool was taken out (making more room for parking). They have a mini breakfast area in the main office, the coffee and tea were good, also there is a waffle maker too, but you can eat it in the comfort of your room! :D I would go back to that hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Property: Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Address: 1080 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2010 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge Hotel Morro Bay
Travelodge Morro Bay
Travel Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Travel Lodge
Morro Bay Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing