We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain at this price”
Review of Motel 6 Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Morro Bay
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Hey it's not great if you're on honeymoon, but if you're on the road and need a cheap, decent motel to sleep and shower, you've come to the right place.

It's near some biggish roads, but still fairly quiet. Wireless was $2.99, there's a small pool and free coffee in the morning. Add the 99 cents burrito in the Taco Bell just down the road, and you are looking at a <50 dollars bed+dinner+internet. Can't complain.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Morro Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Motel 6 is a no frills motel. Why pay for a really expensive hotel when you're going to be out and about seeing the sights? Motel 6 has been our motel of choice because it's located really close to the beach and there is park. If you have younger children, ask for a room on the backside because you can see the park playground from the room and you can walk there in two minutes.

The rooms are very basic. They aren't very atrractive but the rooms are clean and you have a shower, tv and place to put your clothes. The windows slide open if you want a little air and they have a ac/heater box that is under the window.

Room service comes in and cleans once a day. They take your trash, give you new towels and make your bed.

The staff at the front desk was polite and helpful on our last visit.

They have a washer and dryer that you can use for a fee, an ice machine (located in the washer/dryer room) and a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddesssurvival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower, while you are at the beach, then this is a wonderful place to stay. If you are looking for a place that will cater to your every whim, you are better off playing quite a bit more and staying somewhere else. The room was clean, the shower was hot, and the bed was comfy. It is a Motel 6. No frills, just a basic motel, but it is what I expected and wanted. At about $45.00 a night (that is WITH tax) it was wonderful for our budget and allowed us more money to spend on meals out and extras. With all the lovely coastal towns surrounding you, you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. If you want a place to lounge around on the balcony and watch the beach, then stay at the overpriced beach front hotels. If you want a place that won't break you, and is clean, stay here. They are even pet friendly!! It isn't "near" the water, but a short jot down Main street and you are at the Embarcadero in minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We love Morro Bay and like to have money to spend there. The M6 in Morro is one of the least expensive, and it meets our needs. Basic M6 experience. Clean and quiet - especially so since our room faced the local high school! If you want high speed internet, ask as you check in - there are a limited number of rooms that have it.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank NVRoaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We paid 63 $ + TAX 1 room 2 q. beds
good for one night stop before LA.
immediately in the first (from north) exit to morro bay.
no attractions in this town. free parking close to the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

A very basic motel, could do with a revamp, but it's clean and comfortable.
Nice & quiet, and they charged me a different rate to when I booked it which save me about $10
There is a pool here, no breakfast but apparently free coffee in the morning.
Cheap and cheerful can't complain for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Everything was OK, good location, reasonable price, perfect amenieties for road traveller.
Staff is really friendly and helping.
Room was huge as for this price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vilczaq-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#25 of 29 in Morro Bay
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Morro Bay

Address: 298 Atascadero Rd, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: $66 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Morro Bay is located in a small, quiet town a short distance from bay area restaurants, fishing boats and many small shops. Fine wineries in the area offer tours. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Motel Six Morro Bay
Morro Bay Motel Six
Morro Bay Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing