We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Morro Bay
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still a Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here and I already wrote a review last month about that visit. Overall it's a great room for the price. I just wanted to point out that the exhaust fans in the bathrooms in both rooms did not work. The first time I figured it was a fluke. The second time I was a little peeved. In an area with high humidity like the coast has, an exhaust fan helps keep your whole room from turning into a sauna after showers. The problem is evidenced in this otherwise spotless room as a ring of black mold around the exterior shower base. Gross.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Missbee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    48
    20
    27
See reviews for
41
55
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were there the Thursday and Friday right before Memorial Day. It was VERY clean. We were given extra towels and toilet paper upon request, along with a smile. I have cat hair and dog hair allergies, but experienced none while staying there. (They allow pets in the rooms.) The bed was more comfortable than the one I have at home, which was a big surprise. It was quiet. Any outside noise was muffled to the point that it did not bother us. We had requested two connecting non-smoking rooms on the upper floor, and were happy that they provided us this without any trouble. We also called them at 11:30 am, to ask them to call us when our rooms would be available, and they said they were available right away. We were told that the hotel was solid booked for the week and weekend. I was given reservation confirmation numbers at the time of reserving the rooms, (I reserved them about six weeks previously,) and this helped with checking in. The hand soap is a bit drying, but we brought our own shampoos from home, so it did not bother us too much. The area was bustling with family activity, and this was a comfort to us, for we sensed that it helped to deter any criminal actions. The ice machine was always ready with fresh cold ice, We did not use the pool or the laundry facilities, but we did note that the laundry facilities had coin operated detergent and fabric softeners to purchase if needed. Each room had good air conditioners under the room's window, and they did not blow directly on us at night while sleeping, which we preferred. One bathroom had a plastic and flexible shower curtain, which those of us who liked extra arm room enjoyed, and the other one had the glass enclosure, which I liked for it kept in the warm air. I would suggest that if extra elbow room while showering is important to you, that you request a room with a flexible curtain, and not the glass enclosed shower, for the glass enclosed one is the very small kind that one can buy at a home improvement store. The sinks and faucet are the newest kind, (vessel,) and quite cute and modern. All in all, I was very impressed! The one down side to the stay, is that internet connection costs three dollars extra a day, and is for one computer at a time.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were quieter. Ask for a room NOT facing the ball park, if quietness is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The motel is next to a sports field. it's a Memorial Day weekend. The Saturday started with a baseball game on that field which we thought was cute until I started hearing men cursing and yelling. Ok.. After a long day on the shore and in the city we come to the motel at 7 pm only to find out there is s huge truck with all doors open with an excessively loud music playing in it. Of course, kids can't fall asleep. The receptionist told me they can't do anything about the truck since the truck isn't on the motels premises.. After a short research I find out Morro Bay has noise ordinance and that's helpful ( but the stuff should know their county regulations better). The walls and floors between the rooms are probably made put of paper: you can hear a person sneezes, throws up and talks to their child. People are constantly going in and out if their cars. It's 10 pm and the game on the field is still going. I'm afraid of tomorrow..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay in Cayucos when we come to the coast, but I booked this trip a couple weeks prior and Cayucos was booked. I booked here for price and because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The room was spotless and updated--wood laminate floors, flat screen TV, stylish bedding and furniture (especially compared to the outdated photos on the web page). Some guest reviewers indicated they had noisy neighbors. We didn't hear a peep and slept well all night in our 2nd floor room.

Rooms are small and so are the beds (two full beds), but you could book an adjoining room for the kids here and pay the same for 2 rooms that you'd normally pay for one at the coast.

If you're looking for a clean, comfy, inexpensive place to crash while you visit the coast, it's perfect. Kids will love the pool, which has comfy seating for parents / sun seekers. I gave 5 stars not because it's a 5 star hotel, but because for the price in this area it exceeded my expectations.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Missbee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

As we previously stayed at one in needles. We had no issues with needles at all, so were surprised that this one was so much nicer. Rooms had been updated with really nice wood flooring All way through and they just felt cleaner. Would use chain again.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds seem to be same size as those with bed, so can feel cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacjac, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the best Motel 6 I've ever stayed. Clean, well maintained, and up graded. The bed was very comfortable and everything in the room worked very well. ie: TV, A/C and lighting. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Remember to bring shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The motel is great, there are a lot of friendly workers there and a few good trails near the motel that take you to some small dunes. There is a irrigation near that a lot of hobos live near. We took a walk and there were tents and hobos there. Also there is a nice soccer field, baseball feild and a playground right next to the motel. The bad thing is is that if you have dogs the ocean is near and the freeway is next to it about a half mile away. Our dog got hit and died two nights in. So please if you have dogs watch so that they don't sneak out of the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jtatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#22 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Morro Bay

Property: Motel 6 Morro Bay
Address: 298 Atascadero Rd, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Morro Bay is located in a small, quiet town a short distance from bay area restaurants, fishing boats and many small shops. Fine wineries in the area offer tours. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Motel Six Morro Bay
Morro Bay Motel 6
Morro Bay Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing