We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare-bones”
Review of Motel 6 Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Morro Bay
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bare-bones”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Bare-bones motel, not much to offer except a place to sleep for the night. No refrigerator or microwave in room - this was a disappointment as we had leftover foods in our ice chest we planned to re-heat. No microwave available anywhere in the motel. Walls were kind of thin and we could hear sounds from other rooms, especailly in the morning when it seemed like the entire building was taking a shower all at the same time. We kind of expected a little more for a $95 room. Close to the ocean, maybe 2 blocks walk to the water, but there's not much there. Really just a stopover place for tourists heading to or from Highway 1. There is no "298" on the building as far as we could see, so you're not sure if you have the right place or not. Probably wouldn't stay there again unless we could get a much better price on it.

    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank sunrisesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    50
    21
    28
See reviews for
44
56
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Motel 6, you know what you are getting: a clean room with a tv, but no mints on the pillow.

This one at Morro Bay was ideal as a stop off between Bakersfield before going up Hwy 1 to Sunnyvale. Pool was a bit colder than I was expecting though!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank traumatizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

If you are looking for a cheap and clean place to stay, this is it. It is a very basic motel. The room and its contents are on the smallish side. Only one full size bed in the room. Stand shower instead of a bath. You get a small bar of soap and no shampoo. Wifi access is $3/day. Free brewed coffee in the morning in the reservation lobby. This motel is situated right across a high school. Since we stayed on a weekend, it was quiet. Motel is only one exit away from the main town. Very convenient.

  • Liked — It is clean
  • Disliked — Only one full size bed.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jawayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneertown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We just got back from our vacation and stayed at this Motel6 for 3 days.The check-in staff was very friendly and very helpful.We booked online and requested a view of Morro Rock,and they gave us an upstairs room with a nice view of it! There was a playground and baseball fields located behind.Close,but not too close.It was still quiet even with baseball games going on every night.You'd have to have your window or door open to even hear them.Our girls really loved the playground(had a lot of neat equipment and was fenced).
The only con was the hosekeeping.Terrible!This is the first motel we've been to that made our feet black from the carpet.A few of our socks looked like we had been walking in the "black lagoon".Also,our 2 yr old had an accident in the bed and we'd taken the linens(sheets & mattress pad) off and put them at the foot of the bed.When we came back that night,they had made the bed without any sheets etc(just the covers) and the soiled sheets were still in a ball on the floor.Of course,the shower stall got filthy from our feet(the carpet) and they never cleaned it.We went to the front desk and they gave us new ones.
Overall though,we'd stay here again.Loved the location and the front desk.Hopefully they will get some better housekeeping help the next time we stay!

  • Liked — Location & check in
  • Disliked — "housekeeping"
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikibycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I stayed at Motel 6 Morro Bay with my girlfriend this summer in our way down from SF to LA. We were on a road trip all along the coast so we were looking for a budget hotel to sleep during our trip. Even being much more expensive than other motel 6 it was one of the cheapest options we got. It was thanks to TripAd where we read many reviews that we stayed at Motel 6 and it wasn´t wrong. The hotel was ok with a little pool that seemed to be pretty clean and ok. We got our room without any problem and it was in the first floor facing the backyard with had no noise at all. The bed was good enought and the room was clean, the bathroom was a little bit old but also very clean.
It is conviniently located in a short drive to the beach and the main street of the town. It has no breakfast but we had a lovely one in an old bakery near the waterfornt.

Would go back again if we were in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redivan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

We stayed in Morro Bay during a very busy weekend and couldn't find anything except a handful of 1-2 star motels. We chose Motel 6 for no particular reason. Yes, its cheap. No, it has no extra amenities. Yes, it deserves the 1 1/2 star rating. But, it was clean, quiet and convenient! And it was a very short walk to a nice beach. I would definitely stay there again, even if there were other hotel rooms open.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet, great location
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville Ca.
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We come to Morro Bay every year and we always stay at this Motel 6. Its clean,and very close to the beach, which alot of the pricey motels in Morro Bay cant say. Its your basic Motel 6, no frills but who hangs out in their motel room all day while you're down here. Also the staff is very friendly and accomidating.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank shabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
Seaside Inn Morro Bay
#27 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Morro Bay

Property: Motel 6 Morro Bay
Address: 298 Atascadero Rd, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at SR 41/Atascadero Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1517
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Morro Bay is located in a small, quiet town a short distance from bay area restaurants, fishing boats and many small shops. Fine wineries in the area offer tours. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Motel-6, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Motel Six Morro Bay
Morro Bay Motel Six
Morro Bay Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing