We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breaking in the New Year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breaking in the New Year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location. Cute resort. Rooms would be great if a little bit cleaner. They need to either clean the bedding more often or replace the bedding. The restaurant is awful and overpriced for what you get. The staff is friendly both at check in and at the restaurant. The walls are thin. You can hear just about everything your neighbor does. Luckily ours stopped talking loudly early. 50/50 on whether I would stay again. Overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cdrwr1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    211
    149
    72
    47
See reviews for
157
345
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Lovely setting in Morro Bay, almost a stone's throw from Morro Rock. The dining area and patio have especially nice views of the water. The rooms vary in spaciousness and amenitites. The furnishings of the bedrooms and bathrooms are new and fashionably up to date. SERIOUS GAPS: There is no fitness room. Period. There is no business center, though wifi with no password is helpful. Rooms have mini-fridge but no coffee maker or microwave. Take this into account if you expect these amenities. Sounds of other guests in rooms above, beside can be heard. Pillows are too thick for most people's preference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We started booking this hotel through hotels.com then called the hotel directly for questions and ended up booking with them directly. The front desk person was very confused and not well understood. We had to ask three or more times to get a second floor room before she understood. However when we showed up they said we had a first floor (partial view) room. Luckily it was on our confirmation letter so they accommodated us. This $180 full view room was not all that nice. The tv's are LG and do not have picture enhancement so the tv shows were very dark and hard to see. Our sheets were so old that they were piling (rough). Housekeeping replaced our sheets but couldn't do anything about the TV. I would expect more for the amount we paid. I guess your paying for a harbor view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

You’ll love the Inn and Morro Bay. Having stayed there more than once I can share that this is a very special place right on the water of Morro Bay. The staff is very customer focused with a warm welcome when you arrive and ongoing greetings during your stay. The rooms have been beautifully remodeled and have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The bay view dining room and lounge staff are wonderful, serving up your favorite adult beverages along with a chef inspired menu for dinners, breakfasts and Sunday brunch. I used the term “magic” to describe my last stay there it was so delightful. It’s a great value for the price. Try the Inn at Morro Bay. You’ll be glad you did!

Room Tip: The "500" block of rooms face right over the waters of Morro Bay with sea otters and sea l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have a tradition of spending Thanksgiving on the coast and this year instead of taking the Motorhome we decided to spend one night at a hotel and have dinner at a local restaurant. I must admit I was really happy with our choice. This is a very comfortable place to stay with a remarkable view of the Bay. It is right on the water with very nice grounds and a tremendous staff (very friendly). Our room price included breakfast at their full service retaurant and was very good. we were very happy with our stay and will definatly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Room was nice sized with a fireplace that did double duty as the heater for the room. Bed was very comfortable, but was dark in the room. Couch, desk and large granite sink counter. The bathroom was only a shower stall but was very clean. It was a bit difficult to haul the luggage up the stairs in the rain but room was a nice respite.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were unhappy with our original room. The front desk clerk graciously re-assigned us a room. This was an upgrade. The room was exceptionally spacious, providing us a view of the bay and spectacular sunset. The room had a fire-place, sliding doors onto a patio and double sink bathroom. Decor was so outstanding with inlaid slate mosaic floor tiles and plantation shutters over all the windows. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Property: Inn at Morro Bay
Address: 60 State Park Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing