We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely grounds could use some TLC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Morro Bay to your Saves list
Inn at Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely grounds could use some TLC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a king garden room. The room was clean a little small no area in bathroom for grooming items . It would have been nice to have some extra pillows and a note pad and pen in the room.We arrived early and Christian at the front desks was able to get are room early she was wonderful great smile very friendly and accommodating perfect person for the front of the house. The food and service at the restaurant and bar were excellent. We wanted to watch a football game and the F&B. manager Leslie was kind enough to have a wonderful young women Valita take care of us she is as nice as she is pretty The grounds need some work the Jacuzzi had sand in it. The carpet in the halls had lots of stains and many areas in and around the Inn are in need painting . I spoke with Leslie the F&B manager and she shared with me that soon a remodel will be starting. We had one problem that are room was still not cleaned by three in the afternoon. I understand the that the weekend was busy we just should of been told about the delay and we would have planned are time accordingly . The young women who cleaned are room was great her name is Andromeda. There is a young women Lisa that SHOUND NOT be working in hospitality. When we arrived not one smile she look like she would rather be anywhere else but working at the INN. When we called about our room not being cleaned at three she could had cared less and told me the house keeping staff was very busy " not my problem" I want to enjoy my stay and not think about the inner working of the Inn. I complained to Leslie about Lisa . Leslie had housekeeping take care of are room right away . Bottom line we are going back for a four day stay and celebrating New Years Eve at the Inn. I would recommend this Inn as an good value for the money very good food and service the rooms are clean and the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    204
    135
    65
    40
See reviews for
142
320
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I started our 10-day vacation up the coast of California at the Inn at Morro Bay. We stayed two nights and were very pleased! The service was excellent and the room we had overlooking the bay was great. Our room had a nice porch for us to sit on and watch the sunsets. The restaurant provided a nice selection for both dinner and breakfast and the wait staff was very attentive. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 400 building which overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I booked a room here on Priceline.. the room was fantastic... could see the ocean from my window.. nice patio to sit out and look at the bay.. beautiful dining room, the Jacuzzi was wonderful.. grounds were beautiful.. and most of all could take my little pooch with me.. because they are dog friendly.. special thanks to JUDY at the front desk who gave me such a nice room.. she is very pleasant and professional.. will go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent three nights in Morro Bay to relax for a while as we toured the CA coast to avoid our home AZ heat. We were able to check in early, received help getting our luggage up to our room, and warmed up with the working gas fireplace. Our doggie-friendly room was spacious, with lots of storage for all our stuff (I really unpack for 3 days or more) - and a nice big balcony. We even had a refrigerator. The bathroom was a little short on shelf space, which is when I was glad that I traveled with several suction cups for placing needed items on the mirror (great for our toothbrushes) or the walls of the shower stall.

This hotel just a mile out of downtown was our base for eating (seafood is delicious in Morro Bay), for walking through this small town, and for visiting the Paso Robles wine country. There was even more to see and do nearby for those who are younger and more active. We did have wireless internet access from our room, which let us play games and keep up-to-date with our friends.

We appreciated a room which welcomed our dog - who met several friends also staying here. We did have a lot of fog, but I finally got great pictures of Morro Rock on the LAST morning - better than none at all.

From our balcony we could enjoy the views as they became visible, and listen to the seals barking in the bay and the birds singing in the park. We did have to use the car cleaner station as we got some byproducts from these birds living in the next door park. No real problem for us.

We were there during the week so could not eat at the 'fancy' restaurant, but we did have a lovely breakfast at the restaurant off the hotel lobby. I should mention that there are no elevators, so you'd have to check if they have any rooms not requiring stairs. We had no problem with the 1/2 flight needed to reach our top floor room.

Overall I am glad that the need to find a dog-friendly hotel in Morro Bay led us to such delightful accommodations! We hope to return in what we hope will be sunnier (but still cool and comfortable) weather.

Room Tip: Our end room had a large balcony and a fireplace and lots of room to relax inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyF_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a lovey resort, heavenly! The staff were friendly, everything was clean, location was perfect with stunning views over the bay. Room was a good size with everything we could need. The pool was pleasant and not busy when we were there which was great. We stopped off here on a road trip down the west coast, I would recommend this hotel. I was just gutted we didn't have longer to spend here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley AZ
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I read Trip advisor and booked a room for three days. Its clean the receptionists are on the ball. Pleanty of safe parking. Peacefull . Rooms are clean and prices are not out of line. However lets talk a little about the restuarant its clean and food is excellant but one expects this the point being made here is the people like their jobs. Darrell is the best server we have come across in all our trips in USA, Mexico, Europe he really made our days .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location of the Morrow Bay Inn borders the bird sanctuary as well as being right on the bay. This allows you all kinds of bird, sea lion and otter watching opportunities.

We sprang for a full harbor view room and didn’t regret it as the view was spectacular. There is a large viewing area on the bay that is very nice if you are in a non-view room. Every morning the sea lions and otters frolicked just outside our window.

Sleeping with the window open is great as the seabirds lull you to sleep if you don’t mind sleeping like you left Finding Nemo on all night (“mine, mine, mine……”).

With this beauty comes a price as there is bird residue and an occasional whiff of raw nature. I think this is the first hotel I’ve stayed at that features a car wash station. I thank you and my car thanks you.

The rooms are very fresh and clean with a modern look. The issue that has been on other reviews is the lack of storage space, especially in the bathroom. A small pedestal sink with a micro-glass shelf cannot hold the bucket full of accessories todays we tote along on vacation. It holds your toothbrush and toothpaste, and that’s about it. The only real storage is the large double door closet with cubbies in the room.

The rooms are very quiet and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable.

On the Labor Day weekend there was entertainment in the lounge every night with either a guitarist or light jazz/rock group.

Room Tip: The lower rooms have very little view in most buildings, so grab a second floor room. The 400 bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Property: Inn at Morro Bay
Address: 60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing