We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, nicely decorated and amazing breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, nicely decorated and amazing breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely reception from staff, beautifully decorated room and we had a balcony overlooking the pool, we were told we didn't have a sea view but we could actually see it over another set of rooms which was a bonus. We arrived quite late so wondered if we arrived earlier if we might have got a better sea view, if we were to stay again we would prebook a sea view room. This Inn is slightly out of Morro Bay town so be prepared to drive in for dinner if you don't want to eat at the hotel but this wasn't a problem for us.

The walls in the rooms are quite thin and the rooms to either side of us were listening to their televisions loudly which kept us awake for a while which was a shame, as apart from this we had a lovely stay.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic in the restaurant, I had the pancakes but didn't want what accompanied it and without question they were happy to do it with fresh fruit instead and my husband had a cooked breakfast and was really happy as he had a poached egg cooked to perfection where the yolk is runny. It overlooks the bay and despite being a misty morning we enjoyed sitting looking out. We thought the patio area just outside looked quite scruffy and would suggest that the Inn make it look inviting and set it up with chairs around tables and not like furniture had just been scattered outside.

We didn't have time to look around the park which was a shame but in the evening we enjoyed walking along the main street by the restaurants, looking at the boats, seals and birds. A lovely little town to stop in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excitedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    215
    151
    72
    49
See reviews for
160
357
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Crest
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've always enjoyed the Inn and with the renovated rooms I was quite impressed. But the dining room was sub par for what could be a first class resort. We came in at 10 a.m. and was only the 2nd table of two. The hostess (at least I think she was) was in blue jeans and sneakers. The wait staff was attentive but my breakfast arrived a good 10 minutes before my son's. My frittata was clearly overlooked, and both dishes didn't have an inkling of garnish. Hardly an attractive meal. On top of it all it was overpriced for what we received. I highly recommend breakfast at Dorn's in town - always consistent and better value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at Morro Bay. It is a nice hotel but focus needs to be made on the rooms rather than the gardens. For the money that you pay at this hotel the rooms are small and the bathroom impractical. No storage in bathroom for toiletries and the showers are really low. Rooms are nicely furnished just would have expected them to be bigger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahlou2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are recently renovated and the exterior is very nice. However, the only heat was supplied by the in room fireplace, which did not work. When we told the front desk about the broken fireplace, they promptly sent over a space heater, but told us there was nothing they could do to fix it. That was disappointing. I also wish the check-in was earlier than 4:00 p.m. With of all that being said, it is in a beautiful locale and worth the $150 we paid per night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bound4NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a week traveling around the coast from Monterey to San Diego and I decided for at least one night I would spend a little more money and get a place with a nice view of the water. We are not the most demanding patrons, by far, but there were too many issues here: Late check-in at 4PM is bad enough, but they couldn't get our room ready until at least 5 PM. They solved this with two free vouchers to the bar, but only wine and beer. They have a deck with a nice view of the bay. Ther were 3 small plastic tables and 6 folding chairs. Not sure where all the other furniture was, as there was plenty of room for more. Then, I booked a room with the full bay view for around $300 and ended up in a motel style room where everyone and there mother could walk right past the windows to the room. In fact this was the end of the row next to the stairs that came down from the dining room and bar. What good is a view when you have to keep the shades closed. The room was nicely appointed, but I can get that anywhere for less. Next, there was a deck above with kids skateboarding on it, which sounded like a freight train. I went back up and complained and demanded a different room or we were out of there. They let me check out two rooms, one similar to the first but no end of row. The other was off an interior pool court. We took that at a greatly reduced rate. Alas, the swimming pool was shut down so we couldn't use that. The end of the hotel complex where the room was is next to a nature preserve where all the cormorants good to roost. The trees are all dead and white and stinking from the bird crap. But at least the have a car wash station for you to clean your car. We were spared. Got a complimentary breakfast which was decent and high-tailed it out of there first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: There seemed to be one set of rooms with a view towards the ocean that didn't have the motel ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, travelling the coast .the hotel was pleasant with good views if you wanted to enjoy a drink at night. The staff were helpful and friendly too
The rooms were newly refurbished, but the designing was awful. The rooms were small and they had fold back windows that didn't fold back because the beds were in the way
The shower was good but there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom, very impractical .
Could probably find better !!

Room Tip: Could do better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The inn was full the weekend we were there but it was still quiet. Our room was immaculate and very large and comfortable. Even though our room was set back from the main lobby and restaurant we could still see the ocean in the distance. This was possible because the rooms are set up in sections and the restaurant and lobby area that sit directly in front of the ocean sit lower than the rooms that are further back. We had a large fenced in patio with a small table and chairs that was nice to sit at and enjoy the ocean air. The fence was made of wide wooden pickets so it wasn't really designed for enjoying the surrounding views but we had a nice big window in our room that provided a great view. The room had a bright and airy feel with white wooden shutters that let in plenty of light. Everything in the room from the furniture, to the contertops and slate flooring in the bathroom seemed to be recently updated and in great condition. The fireplace was nice but it was a little too warm for us to be able to enjoy it. We made the mistake of turning it on for a short period of time to check it out and we had some trouble cooling the room down afterwards. We weren't able to find a thermostat and only had a ceiling fan to try to accomplish this. We had a small refridgerator in our room and an icemaker nearby. The pool area was nicely kept and there was a hot tub as well. We only saw one family using it during our stay. The grounds are very well maintained and pretty. We ate at dinner at the inn's restaurant and the food was just OK, I had a margarita with dinner and it wasn't great either. Our server was pleasant enough but a little disorganized. We had to keep asking for things (like silverware after our food had already arrived). One nice touch was that the restaurant's bar area had live entertainment that was very good. There was a gentleman playing acoustic guitar and singing classic rock. He had a great voice and he played at just the right volume to create a nice atmosphere without detracting from the guest's ability to converse. There was a comfortable sitting area with a fireplace making it the perfect place to unwind after a tiring day of sighseeing. Overall we were quite happy with the accommodations and would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Property: Inn at Morro Bay
Address: 60 State Park Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing