We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Exterior, Average Otherwise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Exterior, Average Otherwise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are recently renovated and the exterior is very nice. However, the only heat was supplied by the in room fireplace, which did not work. When we told the front desk about the broken fireplace, they promptly sent over a space heater, but told us there was nothing they could do to fix it. That was disappointing. I also wish the check-in was earlier than 4:00 p.m. With of all that being said, it is in a beautiful locale and worth the $150 we paid per night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bound4NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    216
    151
    72
    49
See reviews for
161
357
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a week traveling around the coast from Monterey to San Diego and I decided for at least one night I would spend a little more money and get a place with a nice view of the water. We are not the most demanding patrons, by far, but there were too many issues here: Late check-in at 4PM is bad enough, but they couldn't get our room ready until at least 5 PM. They solved this with two free vouchers to the bar, but only wine and beer. They have a deck with a nice view of the bay. Ther were 3 small plastic tables and 6 folding chairs. Not sure where all the other furniture was, as there was plenty of room for more. Then, I booked a room with the full bay view for around $300 and ended up in a motel style room where everyone and there mother could walk right past the windows to the room. In fact this was the end of the row next to the stairs that came down from the dining room and bar. What good is a view when you have to keep the shades closed. The room was nicely appointed, but I can get that anywhere for less. Next, there was a deck above with kids skateboarding on it, which sounded like a freight train. I went back up and complained and demanded a different room or we were out of there. They let me check out two rooms, one similar to the first but no end of row. The other was off an interior pool court. We took that at a greatly reduced rate. Alas, the swimming pool was shut down so we couldn't use that. The end of the hotel complex where the room was is next to a nature preserve where all the cormorants good to roost. The trees are all dead and white and stinking from the bird crap. But at least the have a car wash station for you to clean your car. We were spared. Got a complimentary breakfast which was decent and high-tailed it out of there first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: There seemed to be one set of rooms with a view towards the ocean that didn't have the motel ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, travelling the coast .the hotel was pleasant with good views if you wanted to enjoy a drink at night. The staff were helpful and friendly too
The rooms were newly refurbished, but the designing was awful. The rooms were small and they had fold back windows that didn't fold back because the beds were in the way
The shower was good but there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom, very impractical .
Could probably find better !!

Room Tip: Could do better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The inn was full the weekend we were there but it was still quiet. Our room was immaculate and very large and comfortable. Even though our room was set back from the main lobby and restaurant we could still see the ocean in the distance. This was possible because the rooms are set up in sections and the restaurant and lobby area that sit directly in front of the ocean sit lower than the rooms that are further back. We had a large fenced in patio with a small table and chairs that was nice to sit at and enjoy the ocean air. The fence was made of wide wooden pickets so it wasn't really designed for enjoying the surrounding views but we had a nice big window in our room that provided a great view. The room had a bright and airy feel with white wooden shutters that let in plenty of light. Everything in the room from the furniture, to the contertops and slate flooring in the bathroom seemed to be recently updated and in great condition. The fireplace was nice but it was a little too warm for us to be able to enjoy it. We made the mistake of turning it on for a short period of time to check it out and we had some trouble cooling the room down afterwards. We weren't able to find a thermostat and only had a ceiling fan to try to accomplish this. We had a small refridgerator in our room and an icemaker nearby. The pool area was nicely kept and there was a hot tub as well. We only saw one family using it during our stay. The grounds are very well maintained and pretty. We ate at dinner at the inn's restaurant and the food was just OK, I had a margarita with dinner and it wasn't great either. Our server was pleasant enough but a little disorganized. We had to keep asking for things (like silverware after our food had already arrived). One nice touch was that the restaurant's bar area had live entertainment that was very good. There was a gentleman playing acoustic guitar and singing classic rock. He had a great voice and he played at just the right volume to create a nice atmosphere without detracting from the guest's ability to converse. There was a comfortable sitting area with a fireplace making it the perfect place to unwind after a tiring day of sighseeing. Overall we were quite happy with the accommodations and would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here in early August 2013, 2 adults and 2 kids (8 & 12). The rooms are nice and clean, as are the bathrooms. The first floor doors open to parked cars, but if you get a room in the 500s just past the cars is the bay. Still a nice view through your window.

We stayed 2 nights and were comfortable and happy with this location. It is about 2 miles from the Embarcadero with lots of restaurants, shopping, etc. The Inn offers a restaurant with lounge and live music on the weekends. It has a wonderful view of the water. We didn't got here, but it looked nice.

The pool is nothing special, but looks nice if you'd like a dip.

We would stay here again and only complaint was the very slow check in process if you arrive at 4pm, be prepared for a line.

Room Tip: The south end of the 500 building is next to a bird rookery - lots of poop on cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a terrible waste, I had previously stayed at this hotel 11 years ago and had a lovely stay with a fantastic meal in great a great bar. What a difference time can make, yes room has had a make over with a nice bathroom but everything else is awful especially the bar. Half furnished with old garden furniture (glass on table chipped and dangerous). Many families turned away as no tables available even though there was an empty unused restuarant attached. After a long drive image being told there was no room available for you to have a drink or meal especially when there is nothing else around. Complained to reception staff who could not have cared less !! STAY AWAY

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrived on a dull grey day in August! Yes it happens especially Morro Bay Area. After exploring this lovely town and harbour which teems with bird life and friendly seals went to the hotel. We had opted for a king garden room. Because we had a 1st floor room we had a sea view also. Good large and very private balcony. Could have sat there for hours watching the different birds sweeping by. Bed large and very comfortable. Rooms are lovely and quiet. Nice sized pool although too cold this day to use. We had a meal in the restaurant which has huge panoramic views of he bay. Very friendly staff and excellent fresh cooked food. Good selection of reasonably priced wines. We also had breakfast next day. Large selection of different juices and hot dishes for breakfast. Try the eggs benedict! All in all a very good hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Property: Inn at Morro Bay
Address: 60 State Park Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing