We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid motel, nothing special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Solid motel, nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

I don't quite get the other gushing reviews, as this Best Western is a solid place to stay, but it's neither distinctive nor does it have a particularly local harbor/seaside atmosphere. It has been recently renovated, but the bathrooms are still small (with old-fashioned small toilets). Check in was easy, seems to be family-run, though they could not offer suggestions about kayak rentals. Location is good - one block from the Embarcadero, but the view rooms are nothing special - you can see Morro Rock, but you're also looking down on traffic, a restaurant parking lot and the gigantic power plant. Fine for a stopover in Morro Bay, but don't expect much more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    221
    81
    26
    7
See reviews for
157
290
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We arrived at almost 11 at night & the clerk was alert, happy to see us and extremely helpful. The room was clean & inviting. The continental breakfast was in a nice seating area with friendly staff and guests and BEST of all it was only a block away from the ocean shops. We will plan another trip much sooner because we have found such a beautiful place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

One of the better places we stayed in California. Front desk people very nice.
room newly decorated and clean. Breakfast good but not enough room to sit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaohio013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

The room was clean, modern, quiet. We upgraded our reservation to a room with a view. the location was great. The mini waffles on the continental breakfast were delicious. Nice big 32" lcd tv. Staff was very friendly. My fiance loved it. I thought is was pretty ok. The rates were alil high, but consistent with the area. The Days inn was about 1/2 the price but we stayed there too & it was about 1/2 as nice. Overall we were satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

This hotel has been remodeled and whoever did it knew what they were doing. All sorts of nice improvements from the granite counters to tile floors and new carpeting to crown molding and on and on. I'm not a world traveler but during my years I have been to many hotels/motels and this one really impressed me. It is VERY clean and the price was right - $98 with cont. breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cduck1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

Check in was quick & efficient. Motel is of a standard layout with external corridors. Located about 3 minutes walk from the seafront. Room was well furnished. Neighbours smoking outside their room meant a lot of noise, but only to be expected at this kind of property

Overall good for the price.

I wouldn'r recommend staying in Morro Bay for a stopover however. If I was driving the coast road again I would probably stay around Cambria

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finestfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

When we pulled up to the motel- we noticed that all of the doors to the rooms were open. When we got into our room- we realized that they were airing out all the rooms which had just been cleaned. The cleaning agent that they use has a very pungent, noxious odour. We left our room with the window open and it smelled just as strongly after we returned many hours later. Using the bathroom the next morning to shower was a challenge as the smell seemed to intensify overnight in there!! Also, it was very difficult to control the water temperature in the shower.
This motel is close to the harbor- which was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you to green_beam for the review of the Best Western Tradewinds. On the day of your arrival, a set of rooms were allocated for granite polishing in the bathroom. The room was mistakenly assigned to the guests given that rooms are randomly assigned in the system, and there was a simple miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeper. Your comfort and satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, and had this matter been brought to our attention we would have gladly offered a different room. We apologize for any inconvenience to green_beam and guests and on your next trip to Morro Bay invite you to stay with us again. We're confident that we can meet and exceed your expectations at the Best Western Tradewinds if given another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Property: BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing