We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 16, 2010

When we pulled up to the motel- we noticed that all of the doors to the rooms were open. When we got into our room- we realized that they were airing out all the rooms which had just been cleaned. The cleaning agent that they use has a very pungent, noxious odour. We left our room with the window open and it smelled just as strongly after we returned many hours later. Using the bathroom the next morning to shower was a challenge as the smell seemed to intensify overnight in there!! Also, it was very difficult to control the water temperature in the shower.
This motel is close to the harbor- which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank green_beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you to green_beam for the review of the Best Western Tradewinds. On the day of your arrival, a set of rooms were allocated for granite polishing in the bathroom. The room was mistakenly assigned to the guests given that rooms are randomly assigned in the system, and there was a simple miscommunication between the front desk and housekeeper. Your comfort and satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, and had this matter been brought to our attention we would have gladly offered a different room. We apologize for any inconvenience to green_beam and guests and on your next trip to Morro Bay invite you to stay with us again. We're confident that we can meet and exceed your expectations at the Best Western Tradewinds if given another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 663 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed here for one night and thought it was very clean and comfortable. The staff were polite and friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach front where we found a small takeaway serving fish and chips. The room itself was spacious and well appointed, with plenty of clean fresh towels plus wireless internet. The free breakfast was great although more seating is needed to enable more guests to eat at the same time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed at the Tradewinds Motel for one day. The service was excellent and friendly and the room was clean and quiet. It is within walking distance of the Morro Bay waterfront restaurants. Guests can use the free public computer too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It is very clean, no frills hotel. It was in a great location for a little shopping and many restaurants. It was a good value for the price. We had to leave before the Breakfast bar opened at 7:30.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank aquaducktres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and pleasant. They had breakfast, which was unexciting. The location was good, and the "trailer park" across the street looks like vacation homes and is well kept. We were just passing through, but it was convenient for the beach, morro rock and the downtown. Free internet.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plonialmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My wife, son and I stayed here on the Friday after Thanksgiving. The room was fine, and it had wireless Internet access. The motel is in a very good location, and the hotel staff was friendly and professional. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We decided to switch from another hotel in the area to this place after reading some of the other reviews. This hotel is comfortable and clean, has attractive/renovated rooms (flat screens, free wireless, etc.), a nice hot tub, friendly reception, and a good location. Our only issue was that the rooms are smaller than other Best Westerns we have stayed at, but then again, all the hotels in Morro Bay seem to have smaller rooms. Good value and a good price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $91 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing