We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highlands, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay; the room was immaculate and included a coffee maker and all the fixings, along with a blow dryer, full-size iron and ironing board. The fridge and microwave were very clean; the whole room was in great shape. The online photos matched up to the reality, which was a wonderful thing. The hotel is close to everything - downtown shops, the Embarcadero and the Rock. The only drawback was the tight squeeze in the morning at the breakfast center. Plenty of food, but very little space. Only suggestion is to expand this area; otherwise, nicely run and nicely done. Would happily return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Adriana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how you feel and how your visit with us was. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to your next visit with us. We definitely appreciate the breakfast suggestion however we are not given much wiggle room with the small corner we have but we will continue to find ways of making it better for our guests.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    203
    76
    24
    5
See reviews for
139
259
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We came down to California from Canada for the one year anniversary of my Dad's passing, and the people at Tradewinds made it as smooth as possible for us. Great people, great service! The cleaning staff are excellent at what they do. I appreciate the fact that they are environmental aware, by asking us if our sheets really do need to be changed everyday or not. The breakfast is awesome, waffles, yogurt, cereal, toast and fruit.... Coffee juice. It's a breakfast wonderland!! Best Western Tradewinds made a difficult time a little better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinZad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello PinZad,

We were so pleased to get your review! We are of course still sorry for your loss but are very glad we got the opportunity to meet you and share in the anniversary of remembering your father. It makes us very happy to know that we made your trip that much nicer. We look forward to your next visit so call us to make your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Clean, fresh , wonderful cleaning staff, close to all stores and restaurants, walking distance, and a big plus, great manager,Kala,!!!! looking forward to going back real soon. Mike & Cathy room218.Thank You for a great stay. From Covina Calif. see you soon.

Room Tip: great place to stay try it you will like it.low daily or weekly,rates cannot beat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Mike and Cathy,

Thank you so much for your kind words and rave review of our hotel, we really appreciate it. You are such valued guests and we look forward to your next visit with us. We enjoy that our guests have a good time and want to come back and see us. Just give us a call when you want to make your next reservation at (805)772-7376.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed there the second weekend of April and were very happy. Great value and very comfortable. Close to the front street as well as the rock.Close to Main St and all the shops. We stayed at other comparable motels in Morro Bay, but this one is the best for your money. Bed was comfy and good pressure in the shower. The room helped make up for the big winds Morro Bay experienced that weekend and Monday also. Thank you Tradewinds!

Room Tip: Upstairs is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivingeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Drivingeasy,

We are also glad that you found our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Even though the weather is not always predictable in Morro Bay, we are and you can always count on the same quality and comfort from us that you enjoyed.
Thank you for writing a review and please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've stayed at the Best Western Tradewinds several times now. It's old and small, but clean and quiet. The owners and staff are warm and friendly, and the prices are the best in town. Plus, it's one block to the Northwest end of the Embarcadero and the best wine bar in town, STAX!

Room Tip: We've always been given rooms on the second floor and there's no elevator, so be sure to let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddessofWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Goddessofwine,

We want to thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you enjoyed your wine gala as well. We hope you will come visit us again soon.
Please call us at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.
Thank you again.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel has been a fixture in my stays in Morro Bay CA, but this last time, they went above and beyond. I called the 1-800 Best Western Rewards number to set up a free nights stay. It was set up and when we arrived, the weekend was a big travel weekend for Morro Bay due to a festival and free nights were not supposed to be used, but they honored it even though they were probably not going to be reimbursed by Corporate. It is a wonderful location (one block from the waterfront) great free breakfast and wonderful management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Mike W,

We thought we were going to get away with just keeping the bleach off of everything and then you brought us the free night. It is always a pleasure to be able to help you when you visit us. We will always do what we can and really appreciate that you always call us and give us notice.
We look forward to your next visit with us and you can call us directly at (805)772-7376.
Thank you for the review.

Kala and Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was great. It was very close to the downtown strip and morro bay is a really cool place to visit. the hotel room was very clean and up to date. the bed was very comfortable and the shower had good pressure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello CA2wheel,

We are so excited and happy that you enjoyed everything about your visit to Morro Bay and our hotel. We have such a great little place to visit and so many things to enjoy. We strive to make your stay as great as possible and it makes us proud that we did a good job for you.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. Please call (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#18 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sail Inn
Blue Sail Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Property: BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing