We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Three day weekend is never long enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redwood City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Three day weekend is never long enough!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife, friend and I took AMTRAK from San Jose to San Luis Obispo to visit our daughter attending college there. It turned a 3 hour drive into a 4.5 hour train trip but it was relaxing and had many scenic views, especially from Paso Robles to SLO. Renting a car at the SLO Airport we drove the 15 miles to Morro Bay. We were checked in by Kaya quickly and efficiently. She was extremely knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. The hotel itself is 2 short blocks from the harbor. The rooms were clean and the king size bed was comfortable. My only complaint about the room was the sitting chairs were uncomfortable for me. Although the hotel does provide adequate continental style breakfast we had breakfast next door at Carla's, very good and my wife loved the decor. Had one dinner in SLO at Firestone BBQ, try the tri-tip sandwich. Another dinner a couple blocks from the hotel, Dorn's serves excellent fresh seafood dinners and has good service. After dinner we walked along the wharf, checked out the shops and looked at sea lions lounging on the rocks. During the day if you play golf Morro Bay Golf Course is a great choice. Reasonably priced Morro Bay is a par 71, 6360 yard layout with spectacular views of Morro Bay from virtually every hole. This course will provide a good test for golfers of all abilities.. Hint most putts break towards the bay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Fizzmo

Thank you for filling out the tripadvisor feedback. We always enjoy hearing what our guests have to say. We understand that three days is really just not enough time. Maybe you can stay longer next time.
If you have any questions or want to create a reservation please call (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    232
    82
    27
    8
See reviews for
168
304
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a good experience. The owners are very pleasant and accommodating. I called late on a Friday night from a neighboring town because the hotel I had chosen for the weekend was not acceptable. They luckily had an opening and I found the room to be perfect in every way for this price range. It was quiet, everything worked, there was no air freshener smell, the bathtub was spotless, the bed fine. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello

This kind of story is one of our favorites, when you get to a place and find it to be disappointing but then you find us and are completely happy again. This is something that happens often and we are so happy to help people find our comfortable, clean functioning rooms.
You are a valued guest and we hope you will return since you enjoyed it so much. Please call us directly to create your reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance from the beach. If you walk outside you can view the beach and the morro bay rock. Not the best value in the area but clean and quiet. Small breakfast nook but continental breakfast is included. Shops are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
To our valued guest,

We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. It is very important to us to make sure everything is up to our guests standards. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call us directly to create your next reservation (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Best Western is just steps away from the famous rock in Morro Bay. Comfortable bed, nicely equipped room, small, but adequate breakfast. Lovely town along the ocean. Before heading to your destination, walk through the town. It is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rebrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello

We appreciate you leaving your feedback regarding our hotel and we are always pleased to hear when you enjoy your stay and why. It gives us a better idea of how we are doing.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
If you have any questions please feel free to call (805)772-7376.
Thank you

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, CA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spontaneous trip to Morro Bay had us searching on line the night before not even sure if we would find any availability ! We found this hotel and remembered that we had stayed here years ago. The price was very reasonable for two queen beds with Continental breakfast included so we booked it!
We were so impressed with all the upgrades over the years and the room we got was lovely. Lots of time was put into the detail work and it shows!! My family even enjoyed the jacuzzi and found that deck and lounging area well maintained. With Morro rock and the embarcadero just one block down....we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaHanford_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and appreciate your feedback regarding the improvements that we have done and will continue to do. We enjoy our location and are very happy that you do as well. There are many things to enjoy and we are happy you enjoyed them with us.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you,

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was located just right for us because it was close to the reason we were in Morro Bay, Frankie and Lola's Diner. ( Try their creme brulee french toast. ) But the hotel itself was only satisfactory and a little tired. My chief complaint was the thin walls and noisy doors (and slamming) from the neighbors along the outside corridor. We also could not adjust the TV screen; words and headlines were running off the top. We stayed here on our BW points.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Claudette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate that you left us feedback and are very sorry that you were dissatisfied by a couple of things. We try and make your stay as pleasant as possible and would have loved the opportunity to fix any issues. We try to update our hotel on a regular basis, however there are some things we cannot physically change about our hotel.
You are a valued guest to us and we hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.
Thank you,

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sail Inn
Blue Sail Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Property: Best Western Tradewinds
Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing