We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance from the beach. If you walk outside you can view the beach and the morro bay rock. Not the best value in the area but clean and quiet. Small breakfast nook but continental breakfast is included. Shops are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

To our valued guest,

We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. It is very important to us to make sure everything is up to our guests standards. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call us directly to create your next reservation (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 650 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Best Western is just steps away from the famous rock in Morro Bay. Comfortable bed, nicely equipped room, small, but adequate breakfast. Lovely town along the ocean. Before heading to your destination, walk through the town. It is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rebrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hello

We appreciate you leaving your feedback regarding our hotel and we are always pleased to hear when you enjoy your stay and why. It gives us a better idea of how we are doing.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
If you have any questions please feel free to call (805)772-7376.
Thank you

Kala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spontaneous trip to Morro Bay had us searching on line the night before not even sure if we would find any availability ! We found this hotel and remembered that we had stayed here years ago. The price was very reasonable for two queen beds with Continental breakfast included so we booked it!
We were so impressed with all the upgrades over the years and the room we got was lovely. Lots of time was put into the detail work and it shows!! My family even enjoyed the jacuzzi and found that deck and lounging area well maintained. With Morro rock and the embarcadero just one block down....we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaHanford_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback and appreciate your feedback regarding the improvements that we have done and will continue to do. We enjoy our location and are very happy that you do as well. There are many things to enjoy and we are happy you enjoyed them with us.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you,

Kala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was located just right for us because it was close to the reason we were in Morro Bay, Frankie and Lola's Diner. ( Try their creme brulee french toast. ) But the hotel itself was only satisfactory and a little tired. My chief complaint was the thin walls and noisy doors (and slamming) from the neighbors along the outside corridor. We also could not adjust the TV screen; words and headlines were running off the top. We stayed here on our BW points.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Claudette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We appreciate that you left us feedback and are very sorry that you were dissatisfied by a couple of things. We try and make your stay as pleasant as possible and would have loved the opportunity to fix any issues. We try to update our hotel on a regular basis, however there are some things we cannot physically change about our hotel.
You are a valued guest to us and we hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.
Thank you,

Kala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Like a lot of people, we overnighted in Morro Bay on our way up PCH. Our favorite little hotel in San Simeon was booked, so we stayed here instead.

It is not often that you can stay in a room for $80 a night and have trouble finding things to complain about. So read this review with that grain of salt, I will nitpick on purpose. The rooms were cozy, recently renovated and typical size for a motel. They were exceptionally clean, even the TV remote had been sanitized. The outside of the hotel was the same, clean and well kept. Even the planters haven't been overlooked.

The walk to the harbor is short, one block down the hill. Hoof it, burn off some calories from the salt water taffy you will buy.

So what could I nitpick? Yes, breakfast is on the spare side, they don't have much space. Frankie and Lola's is right down the hill though with some of the most ridiculously great breakfast fare, so skip the cereal bar for the soufflé flambé French toast.

Honestly the biggest issue with the hotel is nothing they can fix. For whatever reason, when it was built (I'm sure back in the '50's) some genius decided that all of the rooms should face the parking lot, not Morro Bay. The only reason could be that maybe something blocked he view 60 years ago and it's gone now. But the net result is in order to see the bay, you will need to turn the corner.

For $80 though, you can't beat it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! You are absolutely correct about the way the property was built and that is our only downfall, that we cannot change the layout of the property. We do however put a lot of thought and effort into our upgrades and do them on a regular basis to stay up to Best Western standards and our own.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Thank you again,

Kala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in the usual best western 2 queen room. Room and beds are ok. Parking is free. A bit away from the restaurants down the hill. Bad critics is the breakfast. It is far below the standard best western (no eggs, no nothing) and they have exactly 6 (!!!) Seats on 3 (!!!) Tables for about 30-35 rooms. Are you kidding me? Go there for best western rooms. But don't rely on the breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will use it to make improvements as we can. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. If you have any questions or would like to create another reservation please call (805)772-7376.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $98 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing