We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The usual best western rooms but extremely poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in the usual best western 2 queen room. Room and beds are ok. Parking is free. A bit away from the restaurants down the hill. Bad critics is the breakfast. It is far below the standard best western (no eggs, no nothing) and they have exactly 6 (!!!) Seats on 3 (!!!) Tables for about 30-35 rooms. Are you kidding me? Go there for best western rooms. But don't rely on the breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will use it to make improvements as we can. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. If you have any questions or would like to create another reservation please call (805)772-7376.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 663 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife & I come to Morro Bay once or twice a year & always stay at the Tradewinds. We ask for room 204 or 206 because they are upstairs & face Morro Rock. We have known the Managers for a number of years & they are very kind, friendly & always helpful. The Motel is just one street up from the Bay Harbor, Restaurants, Shops. From the motel it is an easy drive on the HWY 1 & HWY101. Coffee is available, However, if you really enjoy your morning cup of "joe" walk down Beach st. one block to the Coffee Pot Resturant & say hello to Gordon!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 204 ,206,208. For a wonderful view of Morro rock & sunset. Easy, fun walk to bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we will use it to make improvements as we can. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. If you have any questions or would like to create another reservation please call (805)772-7376.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have traveled the United States this past year, and stayed in this price range hotel- THIS BY FAR WAS THE WORST VALUE - (and that was with the discount!)
They don't even keep coffee in the lobby area! ..
This place was too expensive for a standard "Best Western" room. The room was cramped and the noise from the road was ridiculous. There was hair found in the sheets, that felt as old as the hotel itself, No coffee cups were in the room, the Direct TV kept loosing it signal. .Definitely would NOT recommend.

Room Tip: DON'T find another hotel that you can enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

To our valued guest

We truly apologize that you found the room unsatisfactory. We do our best to keep all of our rooms above Best Western standards. Again we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We would like another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. You can call us at (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

1. Location-with a block or 2 of the Water-with the boats-the seals-the view of the ROCK in Morro Bay! Can walk to great restaurants and bars!!
2. Easy to find!
3. Clean room -lots of lights-lots of outlets-

Had a room w.2 queen beds-a refrigerator-microwave-coffee pot-closet-luggage racks-table with plug ins for laptop-and tv! Not a lot of room but adequate and clean!
Bed and bedding seemed fresh-lots of pillows-seems as if it was recently updated-
Manager was helpful and fair-I must have accidentally booked 2 rooms online and he was fair and only charged me for the one room that I needed.
There is fresh coffee and some breakfast items in the lobby each morning, but since it is so close to walk to great breakfast and a water view we opted to enjoy breakfast at a couple of local restaurants each morning.

Thanks for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: There are 2 floors-outside stairs-so that might be a consideration when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate knowing what our guests think and ways we can improve. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call directly to create your next reservation.

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank corbettTumkur
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with my family one night on the way to San Francisco and was pleasantly suprised. Very clean room and professional staff. Free wi fi was great to keep the kids busy and we appreciated the mini fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast was just enough to get us going 'til lunch. Just 3 short blocks walk to the waterfront. Check out Rocca's for their fish and chips and fish tacos! Definitely plan on coming back to this Best Western location in the near future for a longer stay as Morro Bay was beautiful and full of friendly people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate knowing what our guests think and ways we can improve. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms had been remodeled, and the bed was firm, but comfortable with high count bedding. It had everything we needed, including wifi, a mini fridge and a microwave.
The staff was very helpful and graciously answered all of our questions. They even unlocked the little area upstairs by the spa, so we could have our breakfast there in the morning and watch the sunset over Morro Rock in the evening.

Room Tip: We preferred upstairs. Facing east was not much of a view, but the sunrise was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Native_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hello

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate knowing what our guests think and ways we can improve. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Kala
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $91 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing