We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
331
257
90
28
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
257
90
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location morro rock room was clean within walking distance continental breakfast the breakfast area hot tub few minutes walk waffles refrigerator and microwave up to date parking lot no elevator restaurants and shops hearst castle would stay here again wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 718 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We only stayed one night here but were disappointed by the fact we had an upstairs room - had to drag all the luggage up the stairs as there is no lift. Make sure when booking you ask for a downstairs room if your visit is short and you have a few suitcases. The room was nice, clean. Breakfast was very simple and had to wait for another family to finish as there wasn't much room in the dining/lobby where breakfast is served.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank benny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Booking Our Visit and Check-In: Booking our trip to Morro Bay was simple and straightforward through their website ([--]), which has a list of nearby attractions, restaurants, and things to do. Highly recommended and we received a great price for the room we booked.

Check-In and Our Stay: This hotel was lovely, as is the town of Morro Bay. We arrived in the evening and checkin was straightforward and quick, the staff was friendly (including the lobby staff and housekeeping), and our room was clean and spotless throughout, had a queen bed, and the bathroom appeared brand new. The hotel itself had ample parking, all rooms were accessible from the outside, a small breakfast was available every morning, and there was a hottub outside on the 2nd floor. The ocean is literally a block down the street, and you can see and walk to Morro Rock from the hotel. Morro Bay itself is situated right in the middle of several nearby attractions, such as bayside restaurants, Hearst Castle, Paso Robles wineries, Pismo Beach, and other small and quaint towns.

Check-Out and Recommendations: Check-out was as simple and quick as our check-in. We had an excellent visit and would definitely recommend this specific hotel to others, in addition to the town of Morro Bay itself as a relaxing vacation spot. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank m569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Mom and I were up on the Central Coast for the second time in three weeks (this time to get papers signed and filed for ownership of an additional timeshare, San Luis Bay Inn in Avila Beach). Since I had wanted to take her to the Sea Chest Restaurant for dinner in Cambria and had to meet the timeshare sellers the next morning in San Luis Obispo, I thought the Tradewinds would be a great central location.

That turned out to be the case—in spite of the 25-minute wait for check-in around 9 p.m. (due to the combination of the Tradewinds' obvious summertime popularity and only one staff member that night, a conscientious soul who faithfully reported to the Tradewinds every late afternoon after his regular day job), the room's small size (for $98.10 at the AAA rate, we weren't complaining too much, though), and the one-hour delay in getting the continental breakfast set up.

Our biggest recommendations when staying at this property:

(1) For summer and other U.S. holiday travel, ask for one of the back rooms on the inside. This saved us from a lot of the noise.

(2) The advice I gave for best odcupancy of the smaller rooms at the Corte Madera Inn absolutely applies at the Tradewinds.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MizKitty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This was our first trip to Morro Bay and we immediately fell in love with the fishing village atmosphere. The location of the hotel is in close proximity to the Embarcadero and the town's "downtown" is also nearby. The motel was clean and the beds firm but comfortable. The room we had was a good size (two queen beds). It did not have a view, but no matter as there is a lot of beautiful scenery to see around the Bay. We used the hot tub and watched the sun set behind the Morro Bay Rock. The hot tub was in okay condition and hot. You need to ask the manager to unlock the door for you in order to gain access. I would definitely recommend the The Tradewinds for anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in the area.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Frescana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Clean, pleasant rooms right near the bay. Views of the rock and boats. Friendly staff. Internet was helpful. Be sure to visit Carla's Kitchen right next door - fine little restaurant. Both motel and restaurant a very good value! Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2007
4  Thank retiredtravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews