We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We spent two nights here when we returned to one of our favourite places on the Central Coast - Morro Bay.

We hadn't booked but just turned up, and as we were looking for a keen price the receptionist suggested a queen size room being smaller but cheaper. It was absolutely fine. Not big but enough space for us.

There was a fridge and coffee maker, and the bathroom was clean and in good order.

There was work going on at the Motel to replace bathrooms in some of the rooms, but it wasn't disruptive.

Coffee & muffins available in the lobby in the morning.

A good motel. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 673 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2008

We only stayed one night here but were disappointed by the fact we had an upstairs room - had to drag all the luggage up the stairs as there is no lift. Make sure when booking you ask for a downstairs room if your visit is short and you have a few suitcases. The room was nice, clean. Breakfast was very simple and had to wait for another family to finish as there wasn't much room in the dining/lobby where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank benny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Booking Our Visit and Check-In: Booking our trip to Morro Bay was simple and straightforward through their website ([--]), which has a list of nearby attractions, restaurants, and things to do. Highly recommended and we received a great price for the room we booked.

Check-In and Our Stay: This hotel was lovely, as is the town of Morro Bay. We arrived in the evening and checkin was straightforward and quick, the staff was friendly (including the lobby staff and housekeeping), and our room was clean and spotless throughout, had a queen bed, and the bathroom appeared brand new. The hotel itself had ample parking, all rooms were accessible from the outside, a small breakfast was available every morning, and there was a hottub outside on the 2nd floor. The ocean is literally a block down the street, and you can see and walk to Morro Rock from the hotel. Morro Bay itself is situated right in the middle of several nearby attractions, such as bayside restaurants, Hearst Castle, Paso Robles wineries, Pismo Beach, and other small and quaint towns.

Check-Out and Recommendations: Check-out was as simple and quick as our check-in. We had an excellent visit and would definitely recommend this specific hotel to others, in addition to the town of Morro Bay itself as a relaxing vacation spot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank m569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Mom and I were up on the Central Coast for the second time in three weeks (this time to get papers signed and filed for ownership of an additional timeshare, San Luis Bay Inn in Avila Beach). Since I had wanted to take her to the Sea Chest Restaurant for dinner in Cambria and had to meet the timeshare sellers the next morning in San Luis Obispo, I thought the Tradewinds would be a great central location.

That turned out to be the case—in spite of the 25-minute wait for check-in around 9 p.m. (due to the combination of the Tradewinds' obvious summertime popularity and only one staff member that night, a conscientious soul who faithfully reported to the Tradewinds every late afternoon after his regular day job), the room's small size (for $98.10 at the AAA rate, we weren't complaining too much, though), and the one-hour delay in getting the continental breakfast set up.

Our biggest recommendations when staying at this property:

(1) For summer and other U.S. holiday travel, ask for one of the back rooms on the inside. This saved us from a lot of the noise.

(2) The advice I gave for best odcupancy of the smaller rooms at the Corte Madera Inn absolutely applies at the Tradewinds.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MizKitty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This was our first trip to Morro Bay and we immediately fell in love with the fishing village atmosphere. The location of the hotel is in close proximity to the Embarcadero and the town's "downtown" is also nearby. The motel was clean and the beds firm but comfortable. The room we had was a good size (two queen beds). It did not have a view, but no matter as there is a lot of beautiful scenery to see around the Bay. We used the hot tub and watched the sun set behind the Morro Bay Rock. The hot tub was in okay condition and hot. You need to ask the manager to unlock the door for you in order to gain access. I would definitely recommend the The Tradewinds for anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Frescana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Clean, pleasant rooms right near the bay. Views of the rock and boats. Friendly staff. Internet was helpful. Be sure to visit Carla's Kitchen right next door - fine little restaurant. Both motel and restaurant a very good value! Recommended.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank retiredtravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

The motel was great, and we were really happy to find out that all of their rooms are non-smoking, because we are non-smokers and we hate the smell!

The front desk staff was very helpful and at check-in they offered us an ocean view room for only $20 more. We took it and It was definitely worth it, we got a great view of the ocean as well as of Morro Rock.

All standard amenities were available to us in the room including TV, phone, bathtub/shower, coffee in the room, and they also offer free wireless internet which worked great

We are definitely going to come back to the Tradewinds next time we stay in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Stanley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $88 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing