We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a best western.....what else is there to say....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's a best western.....what else is there to say....”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Not much to say here. Location was good and within walking of the front. It has parking outside which is good. The breakfast is ok and you get to make your own waffles (nice touch).

I think the hotel is family run and the customer service was good. The rooms were typical best western. ok but very basic. It was clean and JUST about did for a one night stay. My wife would say it was grim but that might be a bit harsh. Would I stay again? Probably not as I would stump up the cash for a better hotel. Not a bad experience just not a good one either.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d.reid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hello

Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback. We like to see what needs to be improved on. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    232
    82
    27
    8
See reviews for
167
304
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On a recent golf outing to the CA Central Coast we stayed at the BW Tradewinds. The room was attractivily decorated and very clean. Even the TV remote control was specially cleaned and inserted in a clean cardboard holder. We only had to walk one block to the ocean bay where there were 5 or 6 excellent restaurant options. In the morning the motel offers free fresh pastries and cereals in their breakfast room/lobby. The manager allowed us to play cards in the lobby provided we finish by 9:45 so we do not wake up any guests. Management was friendly and gave us good restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Consider asking for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Friend

We were so glad to have you stay with us again on your golfing trip weekend. It is always wonderful to see our valued guests. We enjoyed your feedback and are very glad you liked the dinner suggestion.
There are many things to enjoy here in Morro Bay and we look forward to your return to do more of those things. Please call us directly to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed one night on a Saturday after Labor Day. The rate was $40-$60 more than other motels with the same rating. However, rooms were getting scarce. We were told the Sunday rate would drop from our $165 to $109/ I asked three separate times for a re-consideration and was told no each time. On the positive side, the remodel was first rate with crown molding, granite window sills, with granite accents in the bathroom. The concrete parking was quite crowded without handicapped van space. There were nicely tended flower pots with labeled plants to soften the harsh parking area. All in all, a nice effort, but just a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Top floors may have an ocean or rock view. No elevators. Although there is a roll in shower, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Greetings from the Best Western Tradewinds. We appreciate your feedback and use it to make improvements. Our rates vary from the weekend to the weekday and also from season to season. We are glad you were impressed with some of our hotel features. With this in mind we hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations in the future.
Thank you again and please contact us directly at (805)772-7376

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Liked this motel and will stay here again. Every person I met was friendly and helpful - from the clerk at check in to the manager, the maids, and the gardener. The rooms are not large, but we had two queen beds, a big TV with more cable channels than I ever new existed, and enough closet space for four people, easy. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Everything was clean and smelled fresh. The sheets and towels were in good shape and the rug was spot free. We were in town for a week and the price, less than $100 a night, made it possible for us to stay that long and have money left over for some excellent meals on the water front. The hotel is one block from the Embarcadero and as close to the Rock as you can get. It's also easy walking distance to the uptown stores, movie theater, and antique shops. The continental breakfasts were good for us. For the price, I figured there would be stale coffee with dry creamer and packaged sweet rolls (as offered by a competing motel where we stayed last year), but we were greeted with fresh coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, three kinds of cold cereal, instant oatmeal, bread, muffins, English muffins, scones, make-em-yourself waffles, fresh fruit, and all the trimmings. There are trays so you can take breakfast back to your room or to the spa area with a beautiful view of the Rock. Another thing I liked was that we could park our car very close to the room. If you're going to Morro Bay to vacation in your room, book one of the many pricy hotels in town. If you want a comfortable place to clean up and sleep after a day on the bay, you should check out this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback as it lets us know how we are doing. We also use this feedback to make necessary changes or improvements.
You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Thank you

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperhill, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

PROS: Recently remodeled, good bed & TV, has refrigerator, ceiling fan, friendly staff.
CONS: Noisy doors when neighbors go in/out, room very small, bad shower spray, breakfast area way too small & limited choices.

I think this hotel is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback as it lets us know how we are doing. We also use this feedback to make necessary changes or improvements.
You are a valued guest and we hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.
Please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Thank you

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Crazy finding a place during summer but was so surprised to find this one! Just down the hill to the water couldn't ask for a better location ! I wiould stay here again. Walking distance to most everything and 5 mini drive to market if you find yourself missing most important item ( needed new charger for cell phone!) directiions when out if town #1 in my book!

Room Tip: Didn't have a pool or on site restraunt but had a Jacuzzi and many food choices within walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback as it lets us know how we are doing. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Thank you

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff of the hotel were wonderful. Very accommodating to our needs. The room was very clean. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. Free WiFi was a plus. Breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast but there was a great breakfast restaurant behind it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at Best Western Tradewinds, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback as it lets us know how we are doing. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Please call us directly at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.

Thank you

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Property: Best Western Tradewinds
Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing