We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Co Kerry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stopover hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Myself and my husband recently did a roadtrip from LA to San Francisco and decided that Morro Bay looked like a good stop. Hotel is exactly all you need for a night or 2 to check out the place. Lady at reception was very nice. Room was perfect for what we needed, bed was comfy shower was quite good and WIFI was the best! Lots of lovely restaurants around but little disappointed that if its a quiet night, they close eveerything early, including bars.
On checking out, a continental breakfast is available for self service at reception, cereal, toast fruit coffee, juices and make your own waffles, the perfect start to any day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelsieTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    223
    80
    26
    7
See reviews for
160
291
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I were on our way to San Francisco and decided to make Morro Bay our halfway point. We researched many hotels in the area and based on the wonderful reviews, the Tradewinds won out! We were not disappointed at all. We had a very quiet room downstairs in the corner. The room was newly renovated and the bed was big and super comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, nice water pressure. The TV had lots of channels to choose from including HBO. They also have WiFi. The area was quiet and safe. You could hear the Sea Lions barking in the distance in the foggy night air when you were outside. The hotel is a block from the beautiful Marina full of old fishing boats and restaurants and little shops along the water. It's the perfect place for a romantic stroll. We ate at "The American Fish Company" and it was really good. :) The woman at the front desk who checked us in the night before and was there the morning after serving up a wonderful complimentary continental breakfast was named Lala and she was lovely and as nice as could be. While you're hanging out in the Marina, keep your eye out for Pirate Steve. He's a local character that blows his shell horn and adds even more charm to the place. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again. Thank you Tradewinds for a wonderful experience. :) We'll be back! (from Kelly in LA)

Room Tip: Corner room down stairs, Room 105. Easy in and out! :) If you want 'white noise', run the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Really close to the harbor, nice staff unfortunately the fridge was rather loud. Clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkAngel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here with my family mid August. Very friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was on the second floor, big and clean. Small but nice bathroom. The two beds were big and very good. No view but we didn't care as we just made a one-night stop. Wi-fi worked well when sitting at the table near the door. The breakfast was very basic and served in the Front Office area. There were only 3 very small tables, so you'd better take your coffee and toast to the room.
The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the waterfront.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Not cheap for what you're getting but it was the peak travel season. Wifi was slow or completely out. Breakfast was lesser than the typical best western freebie. Every thing else was very average........except the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fast4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

As soon as you arrived at this BW, you felt at home. A friendly effecient service got us into our rooms in a few minutes. The room are large and airy with a very good bed. Bathroom was very clean and coffee making facility contibuted to that "at home feeling".

Free wifi and a good range of channels on the TV keep the kids entertained.

Overall, it was the attention to detail that made this motel stand out. Demonstrated nicely by the hanging baskets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I travel on business a lot - more than 40 weeks a year. I get a lot of views of hotels.
This trip was a family car trip on a weekend.
We got two rooms - one for our grown daughter.

We loved this place.

We go to Morro Bay at least once a year - my wife really loves it there. It's a long drive from San Diego because of the horrible Santa Barbara traffic. But, Morro Bay combined with some Paso Robles wine tasting and fine dining - makes for a fun short trip.

This motel is a smaller, old-fashioned two story motel - no question about it.
Easy access to cars and the small parking lot - on a quiet street.
The rooms were big enough. The beds were very nice and in recent shape.
Most of all - the rooms were noticeably very clean - that's a pet peeve so I'm sensitive to it. Very clean.
The staff (owner / operators?) were very nice and friendly.
The hotel is next door to a very adequate breakfast restaurant and within walking distance to Morro Bay's main restaurants and waterfront.
Our rooms didn't have a view. But, doesn't much matter to me - when in Morro Bay we spend as much time as possible on the water, on the beach, or in the couple of restaurants with great views anyway. We just don't go to places to sit in the room and look out.

Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingmail53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Property: BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing