We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tradewinds
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here with my family mid August. Very friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was on the second floor, big and clean. Small but nice bathroom. The two beds were big and very good. No view but we didn't care as we just made a one-night stop. Wi-fi worked well when sitting at the table near the door. The breakfast was very basic and served in the Front Office area. There were only 3 very small tables, so you'd better take your coffee and toast to the room.
The hotel is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the waterfront.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Not cheap for what you're getting but it was the peak travel season. Wifi was slow or completely out. Breakfast was lesser than the typical best western freebie. Every thing else was very average........except the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fast4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

As soon as you arrived at this BW, you felt at home. A friendly effecient service got us into our rooms in a few minutes. The room are large and airy with a very good bed. Bathroom was very clean and coffee making facility contibuted to that "at home feeling".

Free wifi and a good range of channels on the TV keep the kids entertained.

Overall, it was the attention to detail that made this motel stand out. Demonstrated nicely by the hanging baskets.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I travel on business a lot - more than 40 weeks a year. I get a lot of views of hotels.
This trip was a family car trip on a weekend.
We got two rooms - one for our grown daughter.

We loved this place.

We go to Morro Bay at least once a year - my wife really loves it there. It's a long drive from San Diego because of the horrible Santa Barbara traffic. But, Morro Bay combined with some Paso Robles wine tasting and fine dining - makes for a fun short trip.

This motel is a smaller, old-fashioned two story motel - no question about it.
Easy access to cars and the small parking lot - on a quiet street.
The rooms were big enough. The beds were very nice and in recent shape.
Most of all - the rooms were noticeably very clean - that's a pet peeve so I'm sensitive to it. Very clean.
The staff (owner / operators?) were very nice and friendly.
The hotel is next door to a very adequate breakfast restaurant and within walking distance to Morro Bay's main restaurants and waterfront.
Our rooms didn't have a view. But, doesn't much matter to me - when in Morro Bay we spend as much time as possible on the water, on the beach, or in the couple of restaurants with great views anyway. We just don't go to places to sit in the room and look out.

Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingmail53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

From the time I entered the office, I was treated special! I felt welcomed and that my husbands special needs would be met! I was offered a ground floor room with a partial view of the bay, which I felt hesitant to take, but accepted it anyway, since we could not take an upper room with a view. When we went to our room and opened the curtains to check the view, it was very acceptable to both my husband and I ! The room was beautiful, very clean and well arranged. A restaurant was next door, but for our breakfast we chose to take part of the one offered by our hotel. It was great. We had the opportunity to make our own waffle's ! Both my husband and I were highly satisfied with the room and the great service we received at the Tradewinds Best Western Motel in Moro Bay, Ca.

Room Tip: Arrive early in the day and let the guest service rep. know your needs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaMott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Owners want to please. Clean and comfortable. King bed was great. Bathroom has granite counters and shower. Shower is very good. A/C in every room. We didn't need it, but natives say September and October can be very warm. We paid a little more for upstairs room with bay view. The view was OK. Could see Morro rock and the power plant. Location is great. You can walk to embarcadero waterfront shops and restaurants in 5 minutes. Very quiet part of town. Slept with windows open and no noise. Wireless internet did not work at first. But, we asked the owners and they re-booted their router and it then it worked great. Internet was far better here than at a Hilton we stayed at later in the trip. Big screen TV with very good channel selections. No pay per view movies. Little frig and microwave. Don't expect to cook here. But good enough to store milk for breakfast, keep water bottles cold, and reheat leftovers from dinner. Considering price and location, this has got to be the best value in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burbankbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The rooms were recently renovated with granite in the bathroom. The bed very very comfortable. There were no smells and you could not hear the neighbors eventhough the hotel was full. It had an A.C. which is great for hot weather and a fan. very clean! The only bad thing was that the room was small. But who goes to the beach to hang out in the room

Room Tip: They accomidate babies well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmadding04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $98 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tradewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing