We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and loved the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value and loved the view”
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I've not stayed in too many Best Western's, but found this place to be spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a balcony view and in my opinion it would be one of the best in the San Marcos resort, giving a good view of 'the rock' and of the bay area. Restaurants and shops are a mere five minute walk - just far enough to keep street noises away. Bear in mind there is no air conditioning in the rooms, however, this is not a problem as the ambient temperature can be quite cool and there are ceiling fans.
There is a complimentary cheese and wine offering each evening, but this can be discounted if you like good tasting cheese and wine. If I had a complaint, it was that the windows were grubby - particularly in the reception area. A shame as the premises and particularly the rooms are otherwise very clean. Helpful front desk staff too.

  • Liked — Good views - comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Dirty windows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliboScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    173
    86
    47
    19
See reviews for
128
235
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
so cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here on the way up the coast to Monterey. The motel room was clean, quiet, had an excellent view of the rock and the harbor, and was within easy walking distance of the Embarcadero.
The front lobby had a fire burning when we checked in which felt great on a cool, foggy day.
We took a soak in the jacuzzi overlooking the rock at sunset; what a stress reliever.
We will definately stay here on our next trip up the coast.

  • Liked — the view, the jacuzzi, close to the waterfront
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank striper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Good clean cared for hotel, we had a sea view which was great. Easy walk to the town, restaurants etc. Thre was a wine & cheese at 6.0pm in reception every evening which was a nice touch. Would stay here again without hesitation. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

This isn't "The Ritz" but it's a very nice hotel and a fantastic find. I'm making an 8-day trip up the California Coast and I'm staying in lesser expensive hotels along the way. While I'm not an experienced "budget traveller" I do like to find value for a dollar spent.

The Best Western San Marcos Inn in Morro Bay may be redemptive for the Best Western hotel chain in my book. This is my second stay in a Best Western. The first, in Redondo Beach, was an absolute disaster -complete with a barking dog next door and furniture that looked like hand-me-downs from a defunct Motel 6.

The San Marcos, on the other hand, is a class act. The rooms are spacious, with light oak furniture, and an attractive carpet. My room is on the third floor and it has a balcony - which is true of many rooms at this hotel. The high speed internet works well and there is a wine and cheese hour each afternoon from 5 to 7.

The hotel is located just a block from the beach and my room has a full on view of the Rock at Morro Bay - which is the main attraction in this town.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank RMA626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

This hotel's location is one of the best in Morro Bay. You are right across the street from the Bay with excellent views of Morro Rock. You can hang out on the Balcony and have a drink while watching an awesome sunset. Service is great, always ask for a second or third floor room facing the rock (Bay, waterfront) and you will be in for a nice suprise. Wine tasting nightly and good staff that seems to care. Blew the Best Western Tradewinds away. Thumbs up for a nice cozy stay for the price. It seems as though Morro Bay is not really and upscale resort town in general so I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a bargain and doing the coastal Cali trip for a nice stopping point. Thumbs up!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2005

Made a reservation with them and had a problem with the car. Called them at noon to say we wouldn't make it.

They told me that if they did not rent the room we reserved that we would be charged. This was not explained when I made the reservation directly through them.

Apparently in 12 hours they did not rent one single room, because they charged my credit card. I called and asked them to remove the charge; the extremely rude "manager" told me that she would do no such thing.

After filing a complaint with the better business bureau and calls to the district attorneys office the matter was eventually resolved.

  • Stayed June 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2005

Room with a view of the Morro Rock, across the street from a Medical building, which was quiet since we stayed a weekend, close to the tourist area, but no bathtub and hot scalding shower!! and the bathroom had ants. Otherwise was ok for the price I'd give them a 2 star rate instead of 3 stars. Nice mexican restaurant Lolo's about 2 miles out of the main area. Worth the short drive. Would stay again if they fix the bathroooms.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bassethoundUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Property: Best Western San Marcos Inn
Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing