We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$239
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterpiece Hotel(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$116
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveler rating
195
201
99
55
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
201
99
55
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseocean viewmorro rockbest westernscrackersthird floorwafflesgreat viewshops and restaurantsfront desk staffsmall balconyan older propertywithin walking distancemoro bayshort walkcovered parkingwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 570 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights here during Morro Bay's Harbor Festival weekend. We purchased a room with a King-sized bed w/city view. The room has lots of nice amenities: Balcony, ceiling fan, wireless internet, coffee pot, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, ironing board, hangers, HBO, etc...There are also built-in shampoo, conditioner, and soap dispensers in the shower. The shower was nice because of the adjustable shower head and decent water pressure. However, the bathroom was small. Bonus: Double sinks and mirrors make it easy for a couple or a family to get up and around. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING in the hotel rooms. Normally in Morro Bay it is cool. This weekend it was exceptionally warm, and because heat rises...Well, let's just say my husband was less than ecstatic about the lack of A/C after hoofing it up the hill from the Embarcadero. For what we paid for our room, A/C seemed like a no-brainer. We were surprised not to have an option. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast that is more than adequate. Wine, cheese, and crackers are served between 5pm - 7pm for hotel guests. It's complimentary with the purchase of your room. The spa is large. Parking is convenient. With A/C put in the rooms and a tad bit of sprucing up this hotel could be rated five stars. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank IdaSlapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We were happy to read you liked the amenities we offer. We apologize for the lack of air conditioning, it was hot that weekend even for us locals. We hope you'll give us another try as we are upgrading all our bedding and window treatments. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at his place one night at the end of October. The night was hot, there was not A/C in the room, and the street outside was loud at 2:30 AM and then at 4 AM. So, I filled the feedback form at bestwestern website describing this experience. The e-mail I got said, in part, the following: "The weekend you arrived it was unfortunately the hottest of the year. Otherwise it stays at a cool 63 degrees usually year round which negates the need for A/C. Sorry about your luck."
That e-mailed was signed: "Sincerely, Mohammed E. 05232 Property Front Desk Clerk
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn"

You decide if you'd chance your "luck" by staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Beer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and take it seriously. The whole town was full on that last week of September, hence the noisy streets. You are correct we do not have air conditioned rooms, we do offer fans upon request. We apologize that your stay was less than what you expected or what it should have been. We wish you pleasant journeys.
Sincerely,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at! The hot tub was awesome with a fantastic view of the Morro Bay rock, and also a block away from the main strip of Down town! The rooms are clean and look newly remodeled. The complementary wine and crackers in the evening where also a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review. The spa is perfect after a day of walking on the beach. We'll be here for you on your next trip to our beautiful area.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel location is perfect for viewing Morro Rock. We arrived just before sunset, in time for the managers reception (wine and cheese) which was a nice touch, and got to see the sunsetting from the hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good. I liked the breakfast sandwichs. I would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We were so pleased to read of your pleasant stay with us. The Manager's reception is one of our favorite times of day. We are happy to know you enjoyed it also. Come see again and be sure to call us directly for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First of all I would like to say ...the staff here is exceptional! Very friendly, courteous, and helpful.
PROS:
Great staff
Excellent location
Good breakfast
We loved the wine and cheese in the evening...big plus!
Walking distance to town
Views
CONS:
Dated furniture
Dirty carpet
Uncomfortable beds
Dirty jacuzzi

Room Tip: View of the bay...a must!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RondaFulster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We've had a very busy summer and notified maintenance regarding the carpets. We are in the process of getting new mattresses and our hope is you'll give us another try when your in our area.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews