We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated exterior, but interior has everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 22, 2012

When pulling up to the hotel I was a little concerned as it is dated, but once inside there is no evidence of the 1970s. The beds are comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave. I particularly like the wall separating the sleeping area from the bathroom which provides a nice privacy screen. Some of the rooms have views of Morro Rock. Breakfast is adequate. Their waffle maker makes 4 small waffles which is nice for those not wanting a large waffle. Their waffle toppings are limited as is their cereal choices. The parking lot is very tight for those with larger vehicles. The hotel is within walking distance to the boardwalk and Main Street. It is a great overnight stopping point for those heading to Hearst Castle from Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We also have complimentary wine,sparkling cider and cheese and crackers every evening from 5 to 7 pm. We look forward to providing you with another pleasant stay on your next trip to the Central Coast.

Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 555 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Every year my wife and I go up to Morro Bay for her birthday and stay at the San Marcos Inn. Over the years we've tried some of the other hotels in town but you cant beat the San Marcos Inn for location and price. The Hotel staff are more than helpful and are happy to serve you. Three story bldg. with inside corridors and an elevator, also an inside large hot tub with a nice view. Great bay view rooms each with there own little balcony or at a lower price the city side rooms with there own baccony's. Wine cheese and crackers every afternoon at 5:00PM in the lobby. Just one block to the embarkadaro with enough shops and resturants to satisfy everyone. Be sure to visit the bakery on the east side of the street for some great and fresh pastries to take back to your room for a little snack. My only complaint is that they don't serve breakfast until 7:30 AM. Just minutes to Morro Bay golf course (the poor mans pebble beach) and to Verg's Landing for some deep sea fishing. Be sure to check out on your computer "things to do in Morro Bay" before you come because I can't list everything.

Room Tip: Bay side room's more expensive than city side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryVanNuysCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We love to hear from repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how much you enjoy all Morro Bay and we have to offer.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to stay, beautiful accomodations, 2 blocks from south side of Embarcadero. Luxurious bed. Really enjoyed my 1 night stay here. Beautifully tiled large hydrotherapy spa, about the side of a mini-swimming pool I had all to myself. Have a good complimentary breakfast - hard boiled eggs, waffles, pastries, etc. Would have liked the ocean view,but it was $30 more. Rooms are interior corridors on 2nd and 3rd stories with open atrium between. Carports are on ground floor. This is a great place to stay and affordable. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra $30 for ocean view, it's worth it. Motel is within easy walking dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights. Apparently this is off season for Morro Bay but that was fine with me. The staff is great and very helpful. The room was nice and clean and the extra "wine & cheese" and "continental breakfast" offers were great. The breakfast is exactly what I normally eat.

Wifi connection was not so good and NetFlix had to keep buffering (which generally means poor signal) so gave up on that. I also noticed that there is not enough parking available. All spaces were taken by 3pm. However, street parking is available. Is walking distance to the beach shops and downtown stores are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weiden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We love to hear from repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do have covered parking bays on the street side of the property. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pros - some rooms have a view of the bay and Morro rock, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, good value, good location

Cons - rooms looking a bit tired, some rooms overlook parking lot, no air conditioning, noisy ceiling fans, indoor spa is not particularly attractive

Stayed for one night on drive up US 1. Good value, but hotel is looking a bit tattered, make sure you get a room facing the bay if possible. Would stay again but would first look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay/rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for posting your review. We've notified our maintance department regarding the noisy ceiling fan in your room. We apologize for the appearance of our spa room, we are currently working on some upgrades and invite you to check it out on your next visit to our area.

Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very clean. great value. Quiet. Super close to the "main" street. Has a free wine and cheese thing from 5-7 every evening. decent free breakfast. No AC in the rooms, but the fan and leaving the sliding door open works fine since it's always cool there. Will definently stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with us. We definitly had some warm weather for a few days. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent a couple of weeks touring west coast in various motels & this one had the most helpful reception staff of all. We turned up out of the blue on labour day weekend & they bent over backwards to help us & offered us a room. We checked out a few other motels in the area before accepting and the free wine & cheese (5pm to 7pm) was the bonus that swung it for us. What we did not know was that if you stay 3 or more nights you can be offered a 30% discount so 3 nights virtually for the price of two, A previous review mentions the fact the reception was closed and this is because it closes between 11pm & 7am so if you are expecting to get there then take note of the management response. We had no problems parking & the hotel was full ( that's labour day weekend for you). Breakfast was more than adequate with as much as you can eat with hot & cold selections. The lack of AC may be a problem in the sea view rooms but we had a back room on a hot weekend & did not even resort to the ceiling fan. Reception staff will also provide extra fans on request. The rooms were a good size with a good size fridge too & we slept well. The spa pool was big enough for 3 swimming strokes & we had it to ourselves most days. The location is very good with just a short walk downhill to morro bay promenade where there are plenty of restaurants or a short walk uphill to the main street where there are cafes, take aways & liquor/food shops. You can also catch the tram bus when it runs ( poss only weekends) just along the street & there are 3 routes. One along the beach, another up to the park & a third that will take you north down route 1.
We chose Morro Bay over Pismo Beach because it was a little cheaper & I thought it would be a bit quieter but it was a bit too quiet for me which is why the hotel got 4 not 5 stars. To give an example of how good the staff were, I had trouble getting the TV to work one night & one of the girls came up to the room immediately & tried her best to get it working including calling the manageress. When that failed they gave us the keys to another room.but two minutes later after fiddling some more we got the TV working so did not have to use the other room. We saw her the next day off duty in a local shop & she was still apologising. The manageress also did the same. How often do you get reception in a hotel trying to fix tour tele? I can recommend this place & if you spend an hour drinking the free wine & eating cheese each evening you will know why it hits the spot.

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are cheaper, quieter & the sea views are not that spectacular due to building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Best Western San Marcos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know how your stay with us was. We continually work at upgrading every aspect of our inn so we can provide all our guests with a wonderful experience here in Morro Bay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2261 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $78 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing